Character Classes

Character Classes Fotos by Fritz

View the Player's Handbook here .


How will you help your party make it through this adventure alive? 

Will you cleave your foes with your +1 Longsword? Will you command the forces of the arcane against your party's foes? Will you bolster your party with a rousing tune? Or will you use healing spells to close their wounds?

The cool design of True Dungeon is that the degree of success you have with your chosen action is not done by a simple dice roll. Rather, every character class has a special, real world test that they must perform in order to successfully attack, cast a spell, or pick a lock.

Fighters have the job of being accurate sliders on the combat table. Rangers must be able to effectively slide two weapons at once. Clerics must be able to recall which spell focus item is best for a spell or turning. Wizards must be able to recall where a plane of existence is located to power a spell the most effectively. Rogues must have good nerves and steady hands to pick locks and disarm traps. Bards have a chance to recall the meaning of ancient glyphs learn valuable information about a monster.

At the start of every True Dungeon adventure, players are given ample time to study or practice their class skill. At different times during the adventure, each player needs to perform their class skills in order to successfully complete tasks. For instance, the rogue player has a chance to practice guiding a metal stylus through a small metal maze—without touching the sides of the maze. (This simulates the stressful act of disarming a trap in True Dungeon, where failure can lead to the character's demise.) Later during the adventure, the party comes upon a trapped chest they wish to open, and the Rogue player steps up. The player must guide the stylus through the device in order to disarm the trap. If the task is completed without touching the sides, the DM tells the group that the trap has been disarmed successfully. If the side is touched by the stylus, a red light comes on and the trap is said to have discharged.

All characters are 4th level by default. However, you can play a 5th level version of each character if you possess certain magic items.

Class Skill Tests

Bard: Memory test where a group of symbols (and their names) are memorized.
Barbarian: Hand and eye coordination test as a sliding puck must be slid into a certain area.
Cleric: Memory test where a set of prayer beads (and their names) are memorized.
Druid: Memory test where a set of leaves (and their names) are memorized.
Fighters: Hand and eye coordination test as a sliding puck must be slid into a certain area.
Monk: Similar to the other melee classes, but the monk must slide two pucks in rapid succession.
Paladin: Hand and eye coordination test as a sliding puck must be slid into a certain area.
Ranger: Similar to the other melee classes, but the ranger must slide two pucks simultaneously.
Rogue: Dexterity tests that involve nerves and a steady hand as a metal stylus is manipulated though an "Operation-esque" device.
Wizards: Memory test where a diagram of planes of existences are memorized.

NOTE: The Dwarf Fighter and the Elf Wizard operate just like their Fighter and Wizard counterparts with respect to their Class Skill Tests and what equipment they may use, but they have some special abilities that make them a little different.

You can see all the Character Cards inside the Resources section at the top of the page.

Read 37449 times