Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me
  • Page:
  • 1
  • 2

TOPIC: Assassin’s blade and ranged sneak attack

Assassin’s blade and ranged sneak attack 1 month 1 week ago #13

Endgame wrote:

lazlo_hollyfeld1985 wrote: Its Fu^&ing common sense. Why does this even have to be discussed

I call bull on that. What is common sense about using a Barbarian using a lucky shield in ranged offhand and getting +1 all Saves while using a deathcleaver?


It doesn’t, anymore than it grants the +3 AC. I know the apps only show one set of save numbers. But if you use the shield only in range, and you have to make a save while in melee, then you’re responsible for telling the DM your saves are at -1. And yes, I know a lot of people won’t, but it’s against the rules, so they’re cheating if they don’t.

Or why does a cloak, or boots add +damage to sneak attack with a bow?


Because you never take them off, so they always work. And because it’s magic.
barkley.neo.rr.com -->see my trade thread HERE , my eBay store HERE or my web store HERE
"Ceci n'est pas une pipe" - Magritte

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Last edit: by Brad Mortensen.

Assassin’s blade and ranged sneak attack 1 month 1 week ago #14

Rob F wrote:

Endgame wrote:

lazlo_hollyfeld1985 wrote: Its Fu^&ing common sense. Why does this even have to be discussed

I call bull on that. What is common sense about using a Barbarian using a lucky shield in ranged offhand and getting +1 all Saves while using a deathcleaver? Or why does a cloak, or boots add +damage to sneak attack with a bow?


I think you have some very valid points here with these two questions. However I presume the answer you'll receive from TPTB is... "It's magic." :)

Agree 100% - it’s magic is a completely reasonable argument in a game with wizards and dragons. Given that, we throw out “common sense” when we walk through the door. If boots can be imbued with magic to make a crossbow bolt deal more damage to, say, a giant, why couldn’t that same magic be used on an assassin’s blade such that the magic works even when the blade is sheethed? We can’t have a “common sense” argument about how magic does, or does not work, so we have to take the tokens as written. Brad’s answer is the best one - it’s covered in the players handbook, which I did not reference before posting the question.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Assassin’s blade and ranged sneak attack 1 month 1 week ago #15

Brad Mortensen wrote:

Endgame wrote:

lazlo_hollyfeld1985 wrote: Its Fu^&ing common sense. Why does this even have to be discussed

I call bull on that. What is common sense about using a Barbarian using a lucky shield in ranged offhand and getting +1 all Saves while using a deathcleaver?


It doesn’t, anymore than it grants the +3 AC. I know the apps only show one set of save numbers. But if you use the shield only in range, and you have to make a save while in melee, then you’re responsible for telling the DM your saves are at -1. And yes, I know a lot of people won’t, but it’s against the rules, so they’re cheating if they don’t.

Or why does a cloak, or boots add +damage to sneak attack with a bow?


Because you never take them off, so they always work. And because it’s magic.


I thought that offhand shield saves were a legitimate technicality? If it’s technically cheating, I may have to redo part of the starter guides.

As for the magic bit, are you certain the magic doesn’t work while the blade is sheathed? If not, maybe the enchanter should enchant the sheath instead of the blade for a more effective enchantment?

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Assassin’s blade and ranged sneak attack 1 month 1 week ago #16

Endgame wrote:

Brad Mortensen wrote:

Endgame wrote:

lazlo_hollyfeld1985 wrote: Its Fu^&ing common sense. Why does this even have to be discussed

I call bull on that. What is common sense about using a Barbarian using a lucky shield in ranged offhand and getting +1 all Saves while using a deathcleaver?


It doesn’t, anymore than it grants the +3 AC. I know the apps only show one set of save numbers. But if you use the shield only in range, and you have to make a save while in melee, then you’re responsible for telling the DM your saves are at -1. And yes, I know a lot of people won’t, but it’s against the rules, so they’re cheating if they don’t.

Or why does a cloak, or boots add +damage to sneak attack with a bow?


Because you never take them off, so they always work. And because it’s magic.


I thought that offhand shield saves were a legitimate technicality? If it’s technically cheating, I may have to redo part of the starter guides.

As for the magic bit, are you certain the magic doesn’t work while the blade is sheathed? If not, maybe the enchanter should enchant the sheath instead of the blade for a more effective enchantment?


Yes, I’m 100% certain, because the rules I quoted say the magic only works when you’re actually holding it. Otherwise, you could have a backpack full of shields, orbs, and weapons, and say they were all simultaneously functional. The only magic that carries over when you sheath a handheld item is the set bonus, because that is literally what the second rule I quoted says.

UPDATED: I guess I should have said I’m certain that’s what the rules say. There may be some errata I’m not aware of somewhere saying that Lucky is an exception.
barkley.neo.rr.com -->see my trade thread HERE , my eBay store HERE or my web store HERE
"Ceci n'est pas une pipe" - Magritte

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Last edit: by Brad Mortensen.
  • Page:
  • 1
  • 2
Time to create page: 0.149 seconds