Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me

TOPIC: Token Database 2.0

Token Database 2.0 5 years 4 months ago #73

The baton is a one handed item.
D&D teaches all the important lessons in life - the low blow, the cheap shot, the back stab, the double cross. - Jerry Marsischky

Let them trap us. We have our swords. - Elric of Melnibone.

You try to get them to play the game, but all they want to do is play the rules. - Ardak Kumerian

I do not love the bright sword for its sharpness, nor the arrow for its swiftness, nor the warrior for his glory. I love only that which they defend - Faramir

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Token Database 2.0 5 years 4 months ago #74

Harlax wrote: The baton is a one handed item.


See the other thread on spellcasting and handed items. - you can't be holding stuff in your hand while spellcasting except Focus weapons and shields.

Presently you can't hold a Brawler's Mug, Orb of Might, Bottle of Bubbles, or anything else in your hands other than a shield or a focus weapon if you want to cast spells.

Maybe the rules will be changed so you can hold an Orb of Might - they were for Shields after the initial announcement.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Token Database 2.0 5 years 4 months ago #75

Matthew Hayward wrote:

Harlax wrote: The baton is a one handed item.


See the other thread on spellcasting and handed items. - you can't be holding stuff in your hand while spellcasting except Focus weapons and shields.

Presently you can't hold a Brawler's Mug, Orb of Might, Bottle of Bubbles, or anything else in your hands other than a shield or a focus weapon if you want to cast spells.

Maybe the rules will be changed so you can hold an Orb of Might - they were for Shields after the initial announcement.


OK, so the mistake I'm about to make is to apply logic to magic...

A cleric can cast while holding a large shield but not an orb. Or a mug. At least they can't hold a tower shield.

I don't have a stake in this in any case, my cleric build can get there with the 3 piece Eldritch bonus. Or a Ring or a Charm.
D&D teaches all the important lessons in life - the low blow, the cheap shot, the back stab, the double cross. - Jerry Marsischky

Let them trap us. We have our swords. - Elric of Melnibone.

You try to get them to play the game, but all they want to do is play the rules. - Ardak Kumerian

I do not love the bright sword for its sharpness, nor the arrow for its swiftness, nor the warrior for his glory. I love only that which they defend - Faramir

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Last edit: by Harlax.

Token Database 2.0 5 years 4 months ago #76

Harlax wrote:

Matthew Hayward wrote:

Harlax wrote: The baton is a one handed item.


See the other thread on spellcasting and handed items. - you can't be holding stuff in your hand while spellcasting except Focus weapons and shields.

Presently you can't hold a Brawler's Mug, Orb of Might, Bottle of Bubbles, or anything else in your hands other than a shield or a focus weapon if you want to cast spells.

Maybe the rules will be changed so you can hold an Orb of Might - they were for Shields after the initial announcement.


OK, so the mistake I'm about to make is to apply logic to magic...

A cleric can cast while holding a large shield but not an orb. Or a mug. At least they can't hold a tower shield.

I don't have a stake in this in any case, my cleric build can get there with the 3 piece Eldritch bonus. Or a Ring or a Charm.


I should clarify that you can hold whatever you would be able to hold otherwise while not casting spells.

And you can drop set items in order to cast spells.

It's just that if you start a round holding a Baton of Focus and an Orb of Might you can't use Lenses of Divine Sight that turn, as you would need to spend your free action to drop the Orb so you could cast spells.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Token Database 2.0 5 years 4 months ago #77

Matthew Hayward wrote:

Harlax wrote:

Matthew Hayward wrote:

Harlax wrote: The baton is a one handed item.


See the other thread on spellcasting and handed items. - you can't be holding stuff in your hand while spellcasting except Focus weapons and shields.

Presently you can't hold a Brawler's Mug, Orb of Might, Bottle of Bubbles, or anything else in your hands other than a shield or a focus weapon if you want to cast spells.

Maybe the rules will be changed so you can hold an Orb of Might - they were for Shields after the initial announcement.


OK, so the mistake I'm about to make is to apply logic to magic...

A cleric can cast while holding a large shield but not an orb. Or a mug. At least they can't hold a tower shield.

I don't have a stake in this in any case, my cleric build can get there with the 3 piece Eldritch bonus. Or a Ring or a Charm.


I should clarify that you can hold whatever you would be able to hold otherwise while not casting spells.

And you can drop set items in order to cast spells.

It's just that if you start a round holding a Baton of Focus and an Orb of Might you can't use Lenses of Divine Sight that turn, as you would need to spend your free action to drop the Orb so you could cast spells.


I guess what confused me is we've said that "casting" isn't a mode, and therefore there are only melee and ranged modes.

And I assumed that, if I'm casting in melee mode then, per the set rules, I'm forbidden to drop the Orb. But I guess that logic would mean I couldn't drop the Scepter either, so I could never cast spells.

But it seems like an Orb should be less encumbering than a shield. Whatever.

So I'm glad we had this little talk.
barkley.neo.rr.com -->see my trade thread HERE , my eBay store HERE or my web store HERE
"Ceci n'est pas une pipe" - Magritte

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Token Database 2.0 5 years 4 months ago #78

Matthew Hayward wrote:

Harlax wrote:

Matthew Hayward wrote:

Harlax wrote: The baton is a one handed item.


See the other thread on spellcasting and handed items. - you can't be holding stuff in your hand while spellcasting except Focus weapons and shields.

Presently you can't hold a Brawler's Mug, Orb of Might, Bottle of Bubbles, or anything else in your hands other than a shield or a focus weapon if you want to cast spells.

Maybe the rules will be changed so you can hold an Orb of Might - they were for Shields after the initial announcement.


OK, so the mistake I'm about to make is to apply logic to magic...

A cleric can cast while holding a large shield but not an orb. Or a mug. At least they can't hold a tower shield.

I don't have a stake in this in any case, my cleric build can get there with the 3 piece Eldritch bonus. Or a Ring or a Charm.


I should clarify that you can hold whatever you would be able to hold otherwise while not casting spells.

And you can drop set items in order to cast spells.

It's just that if you start a round holding a Baton of Focus and an Orb of Might you can't use Lenses of Divine Sight that turn, as you would need to spend your free action to drop the Orb so you could cast spells.


Yes I understand all that. Those lenses must be pretty cumbersome. Or maybe they are bifocals and you have to hold your head just right.

Tell me again how we don't have a casting mode... :huh:
D&D teaches all the important lessons in life - the low blow, the cheap shot, the back stab, the double cross. - Jerry Marsischky

Let them trap us. We have our swords. - Elric of Melnibone.

You try to get them to play the game, but all they want to do is play the rules. - Ardak Kumerian

I do not love the bright sword for its sharpness, nor the arrow for its swiftness, nor the warrior for his glory. I love only that which they defend - Faramir

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Last edit: by Harlax.

Token Database 2.0 5 years 4 months ago #79

Brad Mortensen wrote:

Matthew Hayward wrote:

Harlax wrote:

Matthew Hayward wrote:

Harlax wrote: The baton is a one handed item.


See the other thread on spellcasting and handed items. - you can't be holding stuff in your hand while spellcasting except Focus weapons and shields.

Presently you can't hold a Brawler's Mug, Orb of Might, Bottle of Bubbles, or anything else in your hands other than a shield or a focus weapon if you want to cast spells.

Maybe the rules will be changed so you can hold an Orb of Might - they were for Shields after the initial announcement.


OK, so the mistake I'm about to make is to apply logic to magic...

A cleric can cast while holding a large shield but not an orb. Or a mug. At least they can't hold a tower shield.

I don't have a stake in this in any case, my cleric build can get there with the 3 piece Eldritch bonus. Or a Ring or a Charm.


I should clarify that you can hold whatever you would be able to hold otherwise while not casting spells.

And you can drop set items in order to cast spells.

It's just that if you start a round holding a Baton of Focus and an Orb of Might you can't use Lenses of Divine Sight that turn, as you would need to spend your free action to drop the Orb so you could cast spells.


I guess what confused me is we've said that "casting" isn't a mode, and therefore there are only melee and ranged modes.

And I assumed that, if I'm casting in melee mode then, per the set rules, I'm forbidden to drop the Orb. But I guess that logic would mean I couldn't drop the Scepter either, so I could never cast spells.

But it seems like an Orb should be less encumbering than a shield. Whatever.

So I'm glad we had this little talk.


Was also confused about "shield" and what is commonly called "shield hand," but:

1. It's technically called "offhand" because of mugs and orbs and whatnot.

2. Set rule says the weapon is locked if you are "engaged in combat." It doesn't mention "combat mode."

3. Can't find the updated Players Guide, maybe it isn't out yet, but the 2012 PG page 38 refers to Turn Undead as "casting a spell," even though it's (also?) an ability. Is that a typo? If not, I have many more questions, all "(Token) of Focus"- related.

From the be DMG, it sounds like you have to be in that configuration we refuse to call "casting mode" to turn undead, (need free hand, can have shield but apparently not Orb or Mug) but a focus weapon may or may not be allowed while turning. Actually the rule seems to say you can use any one-handed weapon if your off-hand is empty or holding shield.
barkley.neo.rr.com -->see my trade thread HERE , my eBay store HERE or my web store HERE
"Ceci n'est pas une pipe" - Magritte

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Last edit: by Brad Mortensen.

Token Database 2.0 5 years 4 months ago #80

  • Druegar
  • Druegar's Avatar Topic Author
  • Away
  • 9th Level
  • Supporter
  • Enjoy Your Burrito
  • Posts: 9604
Please take the topic of casting conundrums into its own thread . This thread (Token Database 2.0) is used as a record of TDb changes. Having to sift through long tangents makes it a lot more difficult to find pertinent information.

Thank You :)
Have you looked it up in the TDb ?
Please post TDb corrections/suggestions in this thread .
If I write something in teal, it should not be taken seriously

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Token Database 2.0 5 years 4 months ago #81

Druegar wrote: Per Jeff, the duplicate healing spell cast by Lenses of Divine Sight requires/consumes a Free Action. The TDb has been updated to reflect this.


Holy mega nerf's batman!

#hatetheFreeActionLimit
Sweet a combat room, we won't take damage!

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Token Database 2.0 5 years 4 months ago #82

Druegar wrote: Per Jeff, one may not perform two Free Actions in a single round--even if one does not perform a Standard Action.


So no downgrading actions.
Standard action can't downgrade to free.
Sweet a combat room, we won't take damage!

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Token Database 2.0 5 years 4 months ago #83

Druegar wrote: Please take the topic of casting conundrums into its own thread . This thread (Token Database 2.0) is used as a record of TDb changes. Having to sift through long tangents makes it a lot more difficult to find pertinent information.

Thank You :)


Check your PM.
D&D teaches all the important lessons in life - the low blow, the cheap shot, the back stab, the double cross. - Jerry Marsischky

Let them trap us. We have our swords. - Elric of Melnibone.

You try to get them to play the game, but all they want to do is play the rules. - Ardak Kumerian

I do not love the bright sword for its sharpness, nor the arrow for its swiftness, nor the warrior for his glory. I love only that which they defend - Faramir

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Token Database 2.0 5 years 4 months ago #84

valetutto wrote:

Druegar wrote: Per Jeff, the duplicate healing spell cast by Lenses of Divine Sight requires/consumes a Free Action. The TDb has been updated to reflect this.


Holy mega nerf's batman!

#hatetheFreeActionLimit


I think this will actually serve to 'nerf' every other potential free action for clerics and druids, since double healing is so good.
this is not a signature.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Time to create page: 0.215 seconds