Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me

TOPIC: Black Pearl, what does it specifically negate (*spoilers*)

Re: Black Pearl, what does it specifically negate (*spoilers*) 10 years 8 months ago #73

Larry - that was answered in a different thread with a No.
"THERE WILL NEVER BE A TOKEN EQUAL TO A GOOD BRAIN!"- Smakdown

Check out these awesome resources:
Cranston's Character Generator for iDevices or Android
Amorgen's Excel Character Generator
And the ever-useful Token DataBase , expertly maintained by Druegar.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Re: Black Pearl, what does it specifically negate (*spoilers*) 10 years 8 months ago #74

The old ruling on the Ring of the Ram is you can burn off as many charges as you wanted in a round. THat doesn't seem to have made it into the guide as black letter but Jeff's comments seem to indicate as much. <br /><br />I had forgotten the damn thing had 5 charges too. Looks like it's first round ioun death with it and a wizard.

This image is hidden for guests.
Please log in or register to see it.



I'm like a ray of sunshine. Cancerous.

Henwy's LiveJournal

Don't make me maul you with my fearsome gonads

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Re: Black Pearl, what does it specifically negate (*spoilers*) 10 years 8 months ago #75

<br />Does the Ring of the Ram take up an action to use, like a Wand? Or can a player invoke the Ring's power *and* take a swing at the Dragon? And if the Ring counts as an action, can the Ranger wield Ring & Sword in one round?<br /><br />(I ask because a certain foolish Trio are gonna try to run the dungeon with just the 3 of them. Right now, it looks like we've signed ourselves up to be toast. But hey - we're gonna have fun regardless)<br />

<br /><br />The Ring of the Ram is like a Wand, so it takes a full action to activate.<br /><br />And yes, unless the Wizard has a Ring of Focus and a +2 Staff of Power, it will take two Rings of the Ram to kill an Ioun Stone in two rounds.
Token Conjurer
Geek Dreamweaver
Nerdomancer
Author of the never-to-be-released "The Secret of Trees"

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Re: Black Pearl, what does it specifically negate (*spoilers*) 10 years 8 months ago #76

<br /><br />The question though could an attack that hits multiple targets, which lands on the stone, also damage smoak?<br /><br />Hmm...good question.  Yes.  But weapon token must hit the Ioun Stone, but not the other way around.<br /><br /><br /><br />Another is: if a party managed to kill Smoak without taking out the Ioun Stone...do you get to keep the Ioun Stone?  <br /><br />Nope...but maybe you will draw one out of the Treasure Generators?  There are a bunch in there!<br /><br /><br />Good questions!<br />
Token Conjurer
Geek Dreamweaver
Nerdomancer
Author of the never-to-be-released "The Secret of Trees"

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Re: Black Pearl, what does it specifically negate (*spoilers*) 10 years 8 months ago #77

<br />The old ruling on the Ring of the Ram is you can burn off as many charges as you wanted in a round. THat doesn't seem to have made it into the guide as black letter but Jeff's comments seem to indicate as much. <br /><br />I had forgotten the damn thing had 5 charges too. Looks like it's first round ioun death with it and a wizard.<br />

<br /><br />Sorry, Henry, one charge per action, one action per round.<br /><br />
You should know better than to pick up a duck in a dungeon....

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Re: Black Pearl, what does it specifically negate (*spoilers*) 10 years 8 months ago #78

Thank you for the clarifications!
"THERE WILL NEVER BE A TOKEN EQUAL TO A GOOD BRAIN!"- Smakdown

Check out these awesome resources:
Cranston's Character Generator for iDevices or Android
Amorgen's Excel Character Generator
And the ever-useful Token DataBase , expertly maintained by Druegar.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Re: Black Pearl, what does it specifically negate (*spoilers*) 10 years 8 months ago #79

Are Elvish arrows magical or are they like masterwork arrows in that the are simply higher quality arrows?<br /><br />If they are non-magical<br />--Do Elvish arrows work with ring of the Wolf.<br />--Do Elvish arrows recieve a +1 agaist a creature using a Black Pearl?

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Re: Black Pearl, what does it specifically negate (*spoilers*) 10 years 8 months ago #80

Thanks for the clarifications, Jeff.  One more question:<br /><br />Since the target areas are so small (the Ioun Stone and the "20" in Smoak's mouth) there's not a lot of room to land a slider.  If one connects with the target, can we record the hit and remove it from the board so that others could also hit in that round?  Otherwise, say the first person hits, the rest would have nothing to do but pass or drink a potion or something. 

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Re: Black Pearl, what does it specifically negate (*spoilers*) 10 years 8 months ago #81

<br />

<br />The old ruling on the Ring of the Ram is you can burn off as many charges as you wanted in a round. THat doesn't seem to have made it into the guide as black letter but Jeff's comments seem to indicate as much. <br /><br />I had forgotten the damn thing had 5 charges too. Looks like it's first round ioun death with it and a wizard.<br />

<br /><br />Sorry, Henry, one charge per action, one action per round.<br /><br />

<br /><br />I'll get you, and your little dog too.

This image is hidden for guests.
Please log in or register to see it.



I'm like a ray of sunshine. Cancerous.

Henwy's LiveJournal

Don't make me maul you with my fearsome gonads

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Re: Black Pearl, what does it specifically negate (*spoilers*) 10 years 8 months ago #82

  • bpsymington
  • bpsymington's Avatar
  • Offline
  • 9th Level
  • Supporter
  • Follow me on Instagram @runningboardgamer
  • Posts: 15069

<br />Thanks for the clarifications, Jeff.  One more question:<br /><br />Since the target areas are so small (the Ioun Stone and the "20" in Smoak's mouth) there's not a lot of room to land a slider.  If one connects with the target, can we record the hit and remove it from the board so that others could also hit in that round?  Otherwise, say the first person hits, the rest would have nothing to do but pass or drink a potion or something.  <br />

<br /><br />If a slider hits a target, it can still get bumped by other sliders.  That's why the best sliders often go last.  If you don't want to take the chance of hitting a critical slider, don't attack!
Follow me on Instagram @runningboardgamer

Awesome avatar by Mauve Shirt!

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Re: Black Pearl, what does it specifically negate (*spoilers*) 10 years 8 months ago #83

Would the +1 to hit from the Masterwork Spear count?  It is non-magical but is just because of excellent craftmanship.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Re: Black Pearl, what does it specifically negate (*spoilers*) 10 years 8 months ago #84

<br />Would the +1 to hit from the Masterwork Spear count?  It is non-magical but is just because of excellent craftmanship. <br />

<br /><br />The Black Pearl only stops "to Hit" bonuses, not damage bonuses, correct?

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Time to create page: 0.205 seconds