Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me
  • Page:
  • 1

TOPIC: Havoc ring question (not stacking)

Havoc ring question (not stacking) 1 year 3 months ago #1

Can I wear two relics if I have one for melee and one for ranged? tryna decide if two is actually the right number for me or if it is really just one. I realize that two for melee was one too far, or likewise for ranged. Just wondering if they’re suppose to not stack, if I could equip two so they don’t stack, science it is part and partial to their function anyway. Thanks!
--
macXdmg
Monk of the Painda Order
Bard of the College of Sick Beats

Trade thread truedungeon.com/forum?view=topic&catid=61&id=253064#406060

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Havoc ring question (not stacking) 1 year 3 months ago #2

  • Trent
  • Trent's Avatar
  • Offline
  • 9th Level
  • Supporter
  • www.TrentTokens.com
  • Posts: 3007

macxdmg wrote: Can I wear two relics if I have one for melee and one for ranged? tryna decide if two is actually the right number for me or if it is really just one. I realize that two for melee was one too far, or likewise for ranged. Just wondering if they’re suppose to not stack, if I could equip two so they don’t stack, science it is part and partial to their function anyway. Thanks!


I'm going to assume no, as per page 11 of the Players Handbook:

Duplicate Tokens
Other than weapons and Runestones on a Base, which have no uniqueness restriction, you may not equip more than one token with the same name. E.g., a cleric could equip a RING OF FOCUS and a RING OF GREATER FOCUS, but not two GREATER RINGS OF FOCUS.

Equipping an item that expands your available slots does not change this restriction. E.g., wearing a CHARM NECKLACE allows you to equip three additional charms, but each of the six charms you could now equip must still be unique.

Tokens that are not equipped aren’t generally restricted in this way. You may carry and use multiple potions, scrolls, wands, and nearly all other consumable items. Their quantity is only limited by the number of tokens you can physically carry with you into the adventure space.

There are some tokens which are not equipped per se, but are limited to one per person. Many, but not all, of these can be used only once per adventure. E.g., ASH’S DEATH POUCH lets you escape death once per game. Even if you happen to own more than one ASH’S DEATH POUCH token, you cannot benefit from that life-restoring effect more than once per game.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Last edit: by Trent.

Havoc ring question (not stacking) 1 year 3 months ago #3

macxdmg wrote: Can I wear two relics if I have one for melee and one for ranged? tryna decide if two is actually the right number for me or if it is really just one. I realize that two for melee was one too far, or likewise for ranged. Just wondering if they’re suppose to not stack, if I could equip two so they don’t stack, science it is part and partial to their function anyway. Thanks!

The token text says “ may not wear other havoc rings”
delpchad.blogspot.com/

First solo Nightmare survivor-2014 Viper pit

Allergic to Lori

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Havoc ring question (not stacking) 1 year 3 months ago #4

macxdmg wrote: Can I wear two relics if I have one for melee and one for ranged?

no
In addition to what Trent and Lazlo said, the finger slot does not have melee and ranged variations. The ONLY slots that can have different items equipped for melee and ranged are mainhand and offhand. Be careful you're not mixing up "hand" (the slot gloves are worn ON) with "finger" (the slot rings are worn ON) or "mainhand/offhand" (the slot weapons & shields are held IN).
For The Tragically Pedantic: Yes, I'm well aware that things like gauntlets can occupy the hand slot and things that are not weapons or shields can occupy the offhand slot. Take a deep breath and relax. You do not need to point that out.
Have you looked it up in the TDb ?
Please post TDb corrections in this thread .
If I write something in teal, it should not be taken seriously

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Havoc ring question (not stacking) 1 year 3 months ago #5

Druegar wrote:

macxdmg wrote: Can I wear two relics if I have one for melee and one for ranged?

no
In addition to what Trent and Lazlo said, the finger slot does not have melee and ranged variations. The ONLY slots that can have different items equipped for melee and ranged are mainhand and offhand. Be careful you're not mixing up "hand" (the slot gloves are worn ON) with "finger" (the slot rings are worn ON) or "mainhand/offhand" (the slot weapons & shields are held IN).
For The Tragically Pedantic: Yes, I'm well aware that things like gauntlets can occupy the hand slot and things that are not weapons or shields can occupy the offhand slot. Take a deep breath and relax. You do not need to point that out.

Sorry, the havoc ring says I have to choose melee or ranged at start, not that I intended to have one “set” of tokens for either. Thanks for the clarification though!
--
macXdmg
Monk of the Painda Order
Bard of the College of Sick Beats

Trade thread truedungeon.com/forum?view=topic&catid=61&id=253064#406060

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Last edit: by macxdmg. Reason: I’m an unthankful beast, let’s clear that up

Havoc ring question (not stacking) 1 year 3 months ago #6

lazlo_hollyfeld1985 wrote:

macxdmg wrote: Can I wear two relics if I have one for melee and one for ranged? tryna decide if two is actually the right number for me or if it is really just one. I realize that two for melee was one too far, or likewise for ranged. Just wondering if they’re suppose to not stack, if I could equip two so they don’t stack, science it is part and partial to their function anyway. Thanks!

The token text says “ may not wear other havoc rings”

Right as the intent was to prevent stacking (melee or ranged) which is why I asked if I could split them! Thanks!
--
macXdmg
Monk of the Painda Order
Bard of the College of Sick Beats

Trade thread truedungeon.com/forum?view=topic&catid=61&id=253064#406060

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Havoc ring question (not stacking) 1 year 3 months ago #7

Trent wrote:

macxdmg wrote: Can I wear two relics if I have one for melee and one for ranged? tryna decide if two is actually the right number for me or if it is really just one. I realize that two for melee was one too far, or likewise for ranged. Just wondering if they’re suppose to not stack, if I could equip two so they don’t stack, science it is part and partial to their function anyway. Thanks!


I'm going to assume no, as per page 11 of the Players Handbook:

Duplicate Tokens
Other than weapons and Runestones on a Base, which have no uniqueness restriction, you may not equip more than one token with the same name. E.g., a cleric could equip a RING OF FOCUS and a RING OF GREATER FOCUS, but not two GREATER RINGS OF FOCUS.

Equipping an item that expands your available slots does not change this restriction. E.g., wearing a CHARM NECKLACE allows you to equip three additional charms, but each of the six charms you could now equip must still be unique.

Tokens that are not equipped aren’t generally restricted in this way. You may carry and use multiple potions, scrolls, wands, and nearly all other consumable items. Their quantity is only limited by the number of tokens you can physically carry with you into the adventure space.

There are some tokens which are not equipped per se, but are limited to one per person. Many, but not all, of these can be used only once per adventure. E.g., ASH’S DEATH POUCH lets you escape death once per game. Even if you happen to own more than one ASH’S DEATH POUCH token, you cannot benefit from that life-restoring effect more than once per game.

Yeah, that gets me sometimes (I use two of the same viper strike fang, monks break all the rules) clearly I’d have to wear two different levels if I could have them set differently. Answer is clearly no though, thanks!
--
macXdmg
Monk of the Painda Order
Bard of the College of Sick Beats

Trade thread truedungeon.com/forum?view=topic&catid=61&id=253064#406060

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Havoc ring question (not stacking) 1 year 3 months ago #8

macxdmg wrote:

lazlo_hollyfeld1985 wrote:

macxdmg wrote: Can I wear two relics if I have one for melee and one for ranged? tryna decide if two is actually the right number for me or if it is really just one. I realize that two for melee was one too far, or likewise for ranged. Just wondering if they’re suppose to not stack, if I could equip two so they don’t stack, science it is part and partial to their function anyway. Thanks!

The token text says “ may not wear other havoc rings”

Right as the intent was to prevent stacking (melee or ranged) which is why I asked if I could split them! Thanks!

again it said no other havoc rings. which means you can't split them by wearing two. You can Only wear one
delpchad.blogspot.com/

First solo Nightmare survivor-2014 Viper pit

Allergic to Lori

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Page:
  • 1
Time to create page: 0.200 seconds