Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me

TOPIC: Semi-Lich Skull

Semi-Lich Skull 1 month 2 weeks ago #1

Do we know how this will interact with the transmuted teeth of Cavadar? Will the transmute count as seven distinct teeth with this token? I am debating buying this token but I don’t really want to go from +6 HP with it to +0/1 in 2021 after picking it up.
I play Wizard.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Semi-Lich Skull 1 month 2 weeks ago #2

  • Druegar
  • Druegar's Avatar
  • Away
  • 9th Level
  • Supporter
  • Enjoy Your Burrito
  • Posts: 8721

Anthony Barnstable wrote: Will the transmute count as seven distinct teeth with this token?

The completed "Cavadar's Grill" (not the final name!) token's power has not been decided. I have a feeling it will function similarly to the Rod of Seven Parts, in that the completed rod also grants the same powers as the constituent parts and the completed rod doesn't stack with the parts. But again, this is speculation. Proceed at your own risk.
Have you looked it up in the TDb ?
Please post TDb corrections/suggestions in this thread .
If I write something in teal, it should not be taken seriously.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Semi-Lich Skull 1 month 2 weeks ago #3

  • Harlax
  • Harlax's Avatar
  • Away
  • 8th Level
  • Supporter
  • Baruk Khazad!
  • Posts: 6806
Somewhere in the token development threads Jeff stated that the combined teeth would imbue psychic power. Of course, things can and do change.

But I'd be disappointed it did not do so.

And I'm still going with Dentures of Power. :)
D&D teaches all the important lessons in life - the low blow, the cheap shot, the back stab, the double cross. - Jerry Marsischky

Let them trap us. We have our swords. - Elric of Melnibone.

You try to get them to play the game, but all they want to do is play the rules. - Ardak Kumerian

I do not love the bright sword for its sharpness, nor the arrow for its swiftness, nor the warrior for his glory. I love only that which they defend - Faramir

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Semi-Lich Skull 1 month 2 weeks ago #4

  • Picc
  • Picc's Avatar
  • Offline
  • 8th Level
  • Supporter
  • Remember when we were explorers?
  • Posts: 5759
I seem to recall a comment by Jeff during design that the completed teeth would very probably grant psychic powers on their own but would not count towards the bonus HPs granted by skull after being transmuted. The implication seemed to be that you would need second set of non transmuted teeth if you wished to get HPs from the skull in addition to the benefit of the completed Cavadar item.

Take it with a grain of salt though, I have mis-rememberd and mis-interpenetrated things many times.
Semper Gumby, Always flexible.

Sartre sits in in a coffee shop and asks for a coffee without cream. The barista apologizes “Sorry, we don't have any cream. Can I offer you a coffee without milk instead?”

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Last edit: by Picc.

Semi-Lich Skull 1 month 2 weeks ago #5

Anthony Barnstable wrote: Do we know how this will interact with the transmuted teeth of Cavadar? Will the transmute count as seven distinct teeth with this token? I am debating buying this token but I don’t really want to go from +6 HP with it to +0/1 in 2021 after picking it up.


I am in the same situation and have withheld selecting this as a PYP or bidding on any of them until it's clarified.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Semi-Lich Skull 1 month 2 weeks ago #6

Picc wrote: I seem to recall a comment by Jeff during design that the completed teeth would very probably grant psychic powers on their own but would not count towards the bonus HPs granted by skull after being transmuted. The implication seemed to be that you would need second set of non transmuted teeth if you wished to get HPs from the skull in addition to the benefit of the completed Cavadar item.

Take it with a grain of salt though, I have mis-rememberd and mis-interpenetrated things many times.


I'm guessing you're thinking of this :

Jeff Martin wrote: They will NOT count since they will all be turned in to make the big 7-year item. Folks will have to decide what they wanna do.


I wasn't sure if that changed in later conversations though.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Last edit: by ralykam.

Semi-Lich Skull 1 month 2 weeks ago #7

  • Harlax
  • Harlax's Avatar
  • Away
  • 8th Level
  • Supporter
  • Baruk Khazad!
  • Posts: 6806

Picc wrote: I seem to recall a comment by Jeff during design that the completed teeth would very probably grant psychic powers on their own but would not count towards the bonus HPs granted by skull after being transmuted. The implication seemed to be that you would need second set of non transmuted teeth if you wished to get HPs from the skull in addition to the benefit of the completed Cavadar item.

Take it with a grain of salt though, I have mis-rememberd and mis-interpenetrated things many times.


That is my recollection as well.
D&D teaches all the important lessons in life - the low blow, the cheap shot, the back stab, the double cross. - Jerry Marsischky

Let them trap us. We have our swords. - Elric of Melnibone.

You try to get them to play the game, but all they want to do is play the rules. - Ardak Kumerian

I do not love the bright sword for its sharpness, nor the arrow for its swiftness, nor the warrior for his glory. I love only that which they defend - Faramir

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Semi-Lich Skull 1 month 2 weeks ago #8

Harlax wrote:

Picc wrote: I seem to recall a comment by Jeff during design that the completed teeth would very probably grant psychic powers on their own but would not count towards the bonus HPs granted by skull after being transmuted. The implication seemed to be that you would need second set of non transmuted teeth if you wished to get HPs from the skull in addition to the benefit of the completed Cavadar item.

Take it with a grain of salt though, I have mis-rememberd and mis-interpenetrated things many times.


That is my recollection as well.


I think it was undetermined whether we would be allowed to equip individual tooth tokens at the same time as equipping the Transmuted token. Druegar's post sounds like it's leaning towards we can't.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Semi-Lich Skull 1 month 2 weeks ago #9

If the Semi-Lich Skull isn’t then an ingredient with the teeth to make the transmute, the transmute grants psychic power on its own, the transmute with the Skull gives +0 HP, and the transmute prevents you from playing the individual teeth, the Skull would be the most oddly designed token ever, especially the year before the transmute released. I would have understood it if it released with 1st tooth because then it would have 6 years of value getting progressively stronger until it stopped being useful but still would have been frustrating. But this way almost makes it seem like it is effectively a 1 year consumable UR that grants +6 HP. :S
I play Wizard.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Last edit: by Anthony Barnstable.

Semi-Lich Skull 1 month 2 weeks ago #10

Anthony Barnstable wrote: If the Semi-Lich Skull isn’t then an ingredient with the teeth to make the transmute, the transmute grants psychic power on its own, the transmute with the Skull gives +0 HP, and the transmute prevents you from playing the individual teeth, the Skull would be the most oddly designed token ever, especially the year before the transmute released. I would have understood it if it released with 1st tooth because then it would have 6 years of value getting progressively stronger until it stopped being useful but still would have been frustrating. But this way almost makes it seem like it is effectively a 1 year consumable UR that grants +6 HP. :S


There would still be lots of people able to get some teeth but not all 7 who would be interested in getting the skulls from people that don't need them anymore. Maybe it's more like a one year rental than a one year consumable.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Semi-Lich Skull 1 month 2 weeks ago #11

  • Druegar
  • Druegar's Avatar
  • Away
  • 9th Level
  • Supporter
  • Enjoy Your Burrito
  • Posts: 8721
as a reminder

Druegar wrote:
The completed "Cavadar's Grill" (not the final name!) token's power has not been decided.

Have you looked it up in the TDb ?
Please post TDb corrections/suggestions in this thread .
If I write something in teal, it should not be taken seriously.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Semi-Lich Skull 1 month 2 weeks ago #12

Druegar wrote: as a reminder

Druegar wrote:
The completed "Cavadar's Grill" (not the final name!) token's power has not been decided.

I get that. That is part of why Semi-Lich Skull as a 2020 token is a very odd choice. There’s a chance it is useless to anyone who makes the transmute, in my mind there’s a chance it is an ingredient but that seems pretty low, there’s a chance it will combo with that token, but its function is highly dependent on a 2021 token that drastically changes its usability as BiS or intended for resale to players who can’t make the transmute and that is a weird position for a token to be in. I’m not sure that has actually ever happened to another token?
I play Wizard.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Time to create page: 0.184 seconds