Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me

TOPIC: Update Rules on Odin's Medallions

Update Rules on Odin's Medallions 4 months 5 days ago #25

I was looking at it more as the odin medallion being in effect a slotless (and I would assume classless) item that gains its power based on the token it holds.

Medallions of nobility for example dont actually grant -2 damage when equipped, but the Odin medallion does when socketed with one. To me that says your not necessarily equipping the token, more just using it to determine what power Odin grants.

Either way though, I dont have a horse in this race.
Semper Gumby, Always flexible.

Sartre sits in in a coffee shop and asks for a coffee without cream. The barista apologizes “Sorry, we don't have any cream. Can I offer you a coffee without milk instead?”

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Last edit: by Picc.

Update Rules on Odin's Medallions 1 month 1 week ago #26

Matthew Hayward wrote: While I missed the GT run this year, I was excited to hear about the return of permanent bonuses.

Jeff - corner case rules questions:

1. Can items equipped here count toward set bonuses? I.e. could one put in Viper Stike Pants or Shirt and have it count towards the set? Or does it depend on whether the set bonus impacts the party card?

* If yes, can you equip the +1 Celestial Longsword or the +1 Mithal Longsword purely for their set bonus effects, assuming you also eqip a +1 or higher weapon so that the party card doesn't change?

2. I assume level granting items (i.e. Ring/Charm of Heroism) "affect the party card?"

3. How do Bard instruments work with this? Can a bard equip a 2 handed bard instrument (which doesn't affect the party card) in here, and also equip something in their hands? I.e. could a Bard put Amorgen's Amazing Ocarina in here and Widseth's Mystical Lute in their actual hands? If so, can they bardsong + read scroll + attack with a standard action?


I came back to this as I'm going through my builds. I'm sure Jeff has higher priorities but would be nice to eventually have these questions answered. And I'm thinking people with Odin's might be able to slot one of the new 2019 Legendary Tokens since they don't effect the party card?
"Imagination is more important than knowledge. Knowledge is limited. Imagination encircles the world." - Albert Einstein

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Last edit: by Rob F.

Update Rules on Odin's Medallions 1 month 1 week ago #27

Rob F wrote:

Matthew Hayward wrote: While I missed the GT run this year, I was excited to hear about the return of permanent bonuses.

Jeff - corner case rules questions:

1. Can items equipped here count toward set bonuses? I.e. could one put in Viper Stike Pants or Shirt and have it count towards the set? Or does it depend on whether the set bonus impacts the party card?

* If yes, can you equip the +1 Celestial Longsword or the +1 Mithal Longsword purely for their set bonus effects, assuming you also eqip a +1 or higher weapon so that the party card doesn't change?

2. I assume level granting items (i.e. Ring/Charm of Heroism) "affect the party card?"

3. How do Bard instruments work with this? Can a bard equip a 2 handed bard instrument (which doesn't affect the party card) in here, and also equip something in their hands? I.e. could a Bard put Amorgen's Amazing Ocarina in here and Widseth's Mystical Lute in their actual hands? If so, can they bardsong + read scroll + attack with a standard action?


I came back to this as I'm going through my builds. I'm sure Jeff has higher priorities but would be nice to eventually have these questions answered. And I'm thinking people with Odin's might be able to slot one of the new 2019 Legendary Tokens since they don't effect the party card?


2. I assume level granting items (i.e. Ring/Charm of Heroism) "affect the party card?"

I have to believe this is not allowed. Clearly additional levels affect the party card, and the point of the ability was that the coaches would not have to worry about it. For the same reason, I have to believe filling out set bonuses would not be allowed.

3. How do Bard instruments work with this? Can a bard equip a 2 handed bard instrument (which doesn't affect the party card) in here, and also equip something in their hands? I.e. could a Bard put Amorgen's Amazing Ocarina in here and Widseth's Mystical Lute in their actual hands? If so, can they bardsong + read scroll + attack with a standard action?

I don't see the advantage of equipping 2 bard instruments. In order to function at all, you have to play the instrument and you can only play one at a time. You can equip more in your list of non-slotted items, but can still only play one at a time.

Just another player opinion, but given the goal of the item, these cases seem outside the scope of the item.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Time to create page: 0.159 seconds