Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me
  • Page:
  • 1

TOPIC: game mechanics question

game mechanics question 1 year 2 months ago #1

Let's say your party is walking into a combat room. You notice a monster in the corner that you believe is an X/ can inflict X as an attack. You have a potion/ salve that negates X's effect. Can you tell the DM that you are drinking that potion/ applying that salve before anything else happens or do you have to wait until initiative is rolled? Thanks in advance.
Avatar Artwork courtesy of Mauve Shirt

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

game mechanics question 1 year 2 months ago #2

Generally speaking, you are waiting until initiative is rolled.

Rarely the room is set up to allow the party a prep round.

In addition there are tokens that allow using a potion, oil and/or salve as a free action. You you still have to wait. But you don't have to use your standard action to drink.

Two examples: tokendb.com/?fwp_token_search=oil

Belt of Retrieval or Stu's +3 Handy Stein as well.
D&D teaches all the important lessons in life - the low blow, the cheap shot, the back stab, the double cross. - Jerry Marsischky

Let them trap us. We have our swords. - Elric of Melnibone.

You try to get them to play the game, but all they want to do is play the rules. - Ardak Kumerian

I do not love the bright sword for its sharpness, nor the arrow for its swiftness, nor the warrior for his glory. I love only that which they defend - Faramir

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Last edit: by Harlax.

game mechanics question 1 year 2 months ago #3

Hey thanks! I have a pouch of Tulz and pants of retrieval so I'll definitely be looking for times to use those free actions. But sounds like that will be after initiative is rolled. Appreciate the insight.
Avatar Artwork courtesy of Mauve Shirt

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

game mechanics question 1 year 2 months ago #4

You get one free action per round, so don't plan on using both at the same time :)

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

game mechanics question 1 year 2 months ago #5

Yeah I noticed that. But can use them in the same combat.
Avatar Artwork courtesy of Mauve Shirt

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Page:
  • 1
Time to create page: 0.150 seconds