Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me

TOPIC: Feedback on Rules Clarification

Feedback on Rules Clarification 2 years 5 months ago #85

  • Harlax
  • Harlax's Avatar
  • Away
  • 8th Level
  • Supporter
  • Baruk Khazad!
  • Posts: 7427

valetutto wrote:

Picc wrote: So this might be silly but is there any reason we couldn't just consider slotless items to always be readied regardless of weather or not the item is held at the time.


I guess the big question is are slotless items always on and active or do we need to dig them out of backpacks and ready them.

Does slotless mean slot yet to be created or bottom of the bag.


Slotless = doesn't "need" a slot or = doesn't "have" a slot.



TokenDB lists 802 slotless items Granted many of them are Gold Piece items and ammunition. This is feeling like a really big can of worms.
D&D teaches all the important lessons in life - the low blow, the cheap shot, the back stab, the double cross. - Jerry Marsischky

Let them trap us. We have our swords. - Elric of Melnibone.

You try to get them to play the game, but all they want to do is play the rules. - Ardak Kumerian

I do not love the bright sword for its sharpness, nor the arrow for its swiftness, nor the warrior for his glory. I love only that which they defend - Faramir

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Last edit: by Harlax.

Feedback on Rules Clarification 2 years 5 months ago #86

Whatever is done, please don’t put DM’s in the situation where we must tell a new player you have one free action and one standard action, but not those 2, won’t work because of rule 14.2b, see this flowchart for acceptable free/std action pairs.

Adding a third type of action is too confusing, unnecessary, and adds needless complexity that brings nothing positive to the game for a majority of the players.

I would do this: All free actions must be taken before your standard action.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Feedback on Rules Clarification 2 years 5 months ago #87

Cavor wrote: Whatever is done, please don’t put DM’s in the situation where we must tell a new player you have one free action and one standard action, but not those 2, won’t work because of rule 14.2b, see this flowchart for acceptable free/std action pairs.

Adding a third type of action is too confusing, unnecessary, and adds needless complexity that brings nothing positive to the game for a majority of the players.

I would do this: All free actions must be taken before your standard action.


Great points. 100% agree. The less complexity in the dungeon the better.
"Imagination is more important than knowledge. Knowledge is limited. Imagination encircles the world." - Albert Einstein

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Feedback on Rules Clarification 2 years 5 months ago #88

Cavor wrote: Whatever is done, please don’t put DM’s in the situation where we must tell a new player you have one free action and one standard action, but not those 2, won’t work because of rule 14.2b, see this flowchart for acceptable free/std action pairs.

Adding a third type of action is too confusing, unnecessary, and adds needless complexity that brings nothing positive to the game for a majority of the players.

I would do this: All free actions must be taken before your standard action.


I also agree 100%
Please visit my fledgling token store.
truedungeon.com/forum?view=topic&catid=583&id=247486

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Feedback on Rules Clarification 2 years 5 months ago #89

Just a quick question along these same lines...is there an issue going forward with the wizard classes casting spells with the mad evokers charm? If I were to use a spell from a ring of spell storing or crown if expertise can they still be mad evokered as long as they are cast as spells....or does this require too many actions?
Fall down......Go boom!

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Feedback on Rules Clarification 2 years 5 months ago #90

  • Harlax
  • Harlax's Avatar
  • Away
  • 8th Level
  • Supporter
  • Baruk Khazad!
  • Posts: 7427

Adam Guay wrote: Just a quick question along these same lines...is there an issue going forward with the wizard classes casting spells with the mad evokers charm? If I were to use a spell from a ring of spell storing or crown if expertise can they still be mad evokered as long as they are cast as spells....or does this require too many actions?


TokenDB states using the charm does not require either a standard or free action. The spell itself does require an action.

But it is only usable once per round.



tokendb.com/token/mad-evokers-charm/
D&D teaches all the important lessons in life - the low blow, the cheap shot, the back stab, the double cross. - Jerry Marsischky

Let them trap us. We have our swords. - Elric of Melnibone.

You try to get them to play the game, but all they want to do is play the rules. - Ardak Kumerian

I do not love the bright sword for its sharpness, nor the arrow for its swiftness, nor the warrior for his glory. I love only that which they defend - Faramir

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Feedback on Rules Clarification 2 years 5 months ago #91

Thanks.
Fall down......Go boom!

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Feedback on Rules Clarification 2 years 5 months ago #92

Harlax wrote: TokenDB states using the charm does not require either a standard or free action. The spell itself does require an action.

Harlax gets a cookie!

This image is hidden for guests.
Please log in or register to see it.

Have you looked it up in the TDb ?
Please post TDb corrections/suggestions in this thread .
If I write something in teal, it should not be taken seriously.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Time to create page: 0.187 seconds