Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me

TOPIC: QTR 2021 Beta

QTR 2021 Beta 3 weeks 1 day ago #97

Druegar wrote:

Matthew Hayward wrote: 1. When I use Boost, may I also use Sharpen to grant my ally a crit range of 18+ on their slid attack?
2. When I use Boost, may I also use Fork to grant my ally the ability to affect two different monster targets with a single melee or missile attack?
3. When I use Boost, may I also use Conserve to get the effect of Boost without marking off any spells?

As you suspected, no to all. Boost cannot be combined with any other AMP/MP.

Matthew Hayward wrote: when Boost is used on a Monk or Ranger making a two puck attack, the damage bonus is applied only to a single puck, and not to both.

Good call. Boost's description now states:
If you use boost on a monk making a flurry of blows attack or a ranger making a dual-weapon melee attack, it can only affect one of the slides. It automatically affects the best of the two slides, as determined after all the pucks for that round have been slid.

Yes, this changes an earlier ruling , but I think this way is both easier for the DM to handle (less math) and more beneficial to the players.


A few more corner case questions:

1. Can I use other Arch Mage powers and Boost at the same time, like so:

Free Action, use: Quicken and Conserve on Magic Missile, use Boost spending Ray of Shock to add 18 to Fighter's slide.
Standard Action: Cast Fire Dart
Instantaneous Action: Cast Quickened, Conserved Magic Missile
?

I know Arch/Mage Powers can only effect one spell per round - but in this scenario Boost is perhaps not a spell?

2. Can I use Ring of Spell Storing or Crown of Expertise to Boost using a spell which has already been crossed off my card?

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Last edit: by Matthew Hayward.

QTR 2021 Beta 3 weeks 1 day ago #98

Druegar wrote:

FatalDrakkon wrote: Double strike and Power attack have been tagged with [1/room].
As far as I knew these powers can be used as often as you wanted to but I could be wrong.

I was not able to find a reference to them being usable at will, but I double-checked with Jeff and confirmed 1/room is intended. If there was an earlier version that allowed them to be used at will, this replaces it.


🤔 In all the discussions, and since it was not in the final token text as on other tokens with powers, it was my impression that they were both usable at will. But if that's Jeff's intention, I understand. However, that brings to mind some thoughts and questions about using these powers.

Double Strike
If Double Strike is automatic, does it happen the first time a Fighter hits? (Similar to the old Shadowskin.) Or is the intention to be more like the new Shadowskin and the Fighter can choose to use it or not after a successful hit? I ask becaue it seems like this power will be one that the player will have to remind the DM to implement.

Power Attack
Clarifying that the +10 damage on Power Attack is multiplied on a Crit is great.

Making Power Attack once per room takes away the thing that made me so excited about this power, it was a new tool in the Fighter's arsenal that would cause them to make strategic adjustments during each round of combat. Do they wait until everyone else has slid? Do they jump to the head of the sliding order for just this one round to use this power? Do they take the risk against a high AC boss on every slide to get the extra damage or not take the risk knowing they can at least hit them?

General question about both powers
If these are once per room, does that mean if an attempt is made and not successful, can the player try again until it is successful? For example, if a Fighter declares Power Attack on the first round of combat and misses. Can they try to get Double Strike again during round two? Better yet, what if they slide, don't like the slide and use Weapon Specialization to slide again, can they declare Power Attack again?

The simplest path would seem to make Double Strike [1/room your choice] and Power Attack unlimited use. That way, it's the player's responsibility to remind the DM verbally when either of these powers is in play.
Get your Character Class T-Shirts HERE! https://www.redbubble.com/people/snakeeyes0217/collections/723278-dungeon-adventure-wear

Get $10 off your first order from Trent Tokens with this code! http://i.refs.cc/RsPEAVgF

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Last edit: by SnakeEyes (Eric).

QTR 2021 Beta 3 weeks 1 day ago #99

  • Harlax
  • Harlax's Avatar
  • Away
  • 9th Level
  • Supporter
  • Baruk Khazad!
  • Posts: 7891
Are Double Strike and Power Attack now considered "powers" and therefore eligible for "restore power?"
D&D teaches all the important lessons in life - the low blow, the cheap shot, the back stab, the double cross. - Jerry Marsischky

Let them trap us. We have our swords. - Elric of Melnibone.

You try to get them to play the game, but all they want to do is play the rules. - Ardak Kumerian

I do not love the bright sword for its sharpness, nor the arrow for its swiftness, nor the warrior for his glory. I love only that which they defend - Faramir

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

QTR 2021 Beta 3 weeks 1 day ago #100

I understand other people's concerns with power level of Viv's, but my concern is that [1/room] or whatever should be denoted on the token unless it's not possible. The discrepancy between how the token reads and how it works is really unfortunate just from a clarity standpoint.

Now, those who have legendaries can be assumed to be more knowledgeable than the average player, but it was also just misleading in development, not that I could find that many instances of someone calculating based off of the abilities.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

QTR 2021 Beta 3 weeks 1 day ago #101

Thanks, Druegar, for all the work on this reference and your patience in fielding our responses. A couple more thoughts:
-page 7 Bracers of Goblinlore list a +2 to hit bonus in the text, the image of the token was +1
-page 9 Gnomish Leather Jerkin text does not specify slingbows as the token image does
-page 12 Pants of Focus could perhaps benefit from repeating the text clarifying multiple targets found with the Crown of Focus.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

QTR 2021 Beta 3 weeks 1 day ago #102

Druegar’s Sacred Necklace... 11-15... "Spells which require a slide or slide-spell tokens that do not require a token with a damage wheel are not affected by this power."

I think this should read "Spells which do not require a slide..."
dmrzzz's trade thread

Yes, my AC is lower than the Wizard's. No regrets!

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

QTR 2021 Beta 3 weeks 1 day ago #103

Boost related Wizard question: can I forego my standard action to take a second free action?

For example, could I use Boost as my free action and then forego my standard action to use Payferre’s Spectacles (free action to deal 15 damage)?
I play Wizard.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

QTR 2021 Beta 3 weeks 18 hours ago #104

  • Druegar
  • Druegar's Avatar Topic Author
  • Offline
  • 9th Level
  • Supporter
  • Enjoy Your Burrito
  • Posts: 9154

Anthony Barnstable wrote: Boost related Wizard question: can I forego my standard action to take a second free action?

quoting the PHB :
Actions in a Round
Up to one Standard Action and one Free Action per character may be performed in a single round. You may not substitute one action for another. E.g., you can't perform two Free Actions in one round if you don't perform a Standard Action. You’re not required to use both of them, but they are effectively a "use 'em or lose 'em" resource.
Have you looked it up in the TDb ?
Please post TDb corrections/suggestions in this thread .
If I write something in teal, it should not be taken seriously.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

QTR 2021 Beta 3 weeks 17 hours ago #105

  • Druegar
  • Druegar's Avatar Topic Author
  • Offline
  • 9th Level
  • Supporter
  • Enjoy Your Burrito
  • Posts: 9154

Harlax wrote: Are Double Strike and Power Attack now considered "powers" and therefore eligible for "restore power?"

Restore Power and Restore Spell can only be used to restore powers/spells printed on class cards.
Have you looked it up in the TDb ?
Please post TDb corrections/suggestions in this thread .
If I write something in teal, it should not be taken seriously.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

QTR 2021 Beta 3 weeks 12 hours ago #106

  • Druegar
  • Druegar's Avatar Topic Author
  • Offline
  • 9th Level
  • Supporter
  • Enjoy Your Burrito
  • Posts: 9154
Gird yourselves for disappointment folks, I have bad news and some other news.

Bad News: We've changed Double Strike and Power Attack again.
Other News: They're now only usable once per round.

Please try to rein in your vehemence.
Have you looked it up in the TDb ?
Please post TDb corrections/suggestions in this thread .
If I write something in teal, it should not be taken seriously.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

QTR 2021 Beta 3 weeks 11 hours ago #107

Druegar wrote: Gird yourselves for disappointment folks, I have bad news and some other news.

Bad News: We've changed Double Strike and Power Attack again.
Other News: They're now only usable once per round.

Please try to rein in your vehemence.


Dream granter doesn't have the same flair as dream crusher.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

QTR 2021 Beta 3 weeks 11 hours ago #108

  • Druegar
  • Druegar's Avatar Topic Author
  • Offline
  • 9th Level
  • Supporter
  • Enjoy Your Burrito
  • Posts: 9154

Aegoce wrote: Dream granter

SHUT YOUR MOUTH, BLASPHEMER!!! 😠
Have you looked it up in the TDb ?
Please post TDb corrections/suggestions in this thread .
If I write something in teal, it should not be taken seriously.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Time to create page: 0.218 seconds