Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me

TOPIC: QTR 2021 Beta

QTR 2021 Beta 1 year 9 months ago #85

Druegar wrote:

Acid Pezz wrote: Didnt the Skull of Cavadar grant access to sub-classes? It doesnt mention that on page 13.

Skull of Cavadar does allow you to play a sub-class 1/year, thanks for catching that oversight.
In case anyone was curious, if you own both a Ro7P and SoC, you can play a sub-class twice a each year.


If you owned multiple SoC, you could play multiple sub-classes per year, as long as each SoC was only used for that purpose once per year, correct?
The topic has been locked.

QTR 2021 Beta 1 year 9 months ago #86

  • Druegar
  • Druegar's Avatar Topic Author
  • Offline
  • 9th Level
  • Supporter
  • Enjoy Your Burrito
  • Posts: 9972
Matthew Hayward, I think I understand now. 🤞

When you use Boost, you channel the magical energy from what would (could?) have been a spell you cast into the physical attack of an ally. Though you're not technically casting a spell, the spell consumed by Boost gets marked off your class card.

Here's a specific example (you're an elf wizard, I'm a dwarf fighter):
We're fighting the BBEG . During the course of our adventure, you've noticed I'm really good at sliding--I almost always land on the 20. It's getting down to the wire. Your only remaining offensive spell is Fireball. You're down to 9 HP, so you can't use MEC. The BBEG isn't extra-vulnerable to Fire, so the most damage a Fireball could do is 20. But since you know I'm almost certain to crit this SoB (dwarf fighters deal triple damage when they crit on a natural 20), you use Boost to channel what would have been your Fireball spell into my swing. Fireball gets marked off your card, you take 5 damage, but no magical fire is created. Instead, the raw arcane energy that would have otherwise been converted into Fire gets shunted into the kinetic energy of my swing. Just to sweeten the deal, you use your Standard Action to cast Bull's Strength on me. I make a roundhouse at the BBEG with my Enormous Hammer of Definitely Not Compensating For Anything and squash it like a bug under a steel boot. I'm covered in gore and we emerge from the battle victorious. Later on in the tavern, I buy you your beverage of choice for being such an awesome team player.

In a variation of the above scenario, instead of casting Bull's Strength on me, you could have used your Standard Action [using an (Arch-)Mage Power requires a Free Action] to drink a healing potion, make a physical attack, or pretty much any other Standard Action.

Though it wasn't part of the scenario above, Boost is particularly useful if you're within an anti-magic zone because it is not negated by the anti-magic effect.

Does that answer your questions? If not, tell me what I didn't cover.
Have you looked it up in the TDb ?
Please post TDb corrections in this thread .
If I write something in teal, it should not be taken seriously
Last edit: by Druegar.
The topic has been locked.

QTR 2021 Beta 1 year 9 months ago #87

  • Druegar
  • Druegar's Avatar Topic Author
  • Offline
  • 9th Level
  • Supporter
  • Enjoy Your Burrito
  • Posts: 9972

Mike Steele wrote: If you owned multiple SoC, you could play multiple sub-classes per year, as long as each SoC was only used for that purpose once per year, correct?

Yes
With regard to being able to play a sub-class, SoC is just like Ro7P. If you want to spend the resources to acquire dozens of SoC and/or Ro7P, you can play sub-classes dozens of times each year.
Have you looked it up in the TDb ?
Please post TDb corrections in this thread .
If I write something in teal, it should not be taken seriously
The topic has been locked.

QTR 2021 Beta 1 year 9 months ago #88

Druegar wrote: Matthew Hayward, I think I understand now. 🤞

When you use Boost, you channel the magical energy from what would (could?) have been a spell you cast into the physical attack of an ally. Though you're not technically casting a spell, the spell consumed by Boost gets marked off your class card.

Here's a specific example (you're an elf wizard, I'm a dwarf fighter):
We're fighting the BBEG . During the course of our adventure, you've noticed I'm really good at sliding--I almost always land on the 20. It's getting down to the wire. Your only remaining offensive spell is Fireball. You're down to 9 HP, so you can't use MEC. The BBEG isn't extra-vulnerable to Fire, so the most damage a Fireball could do is 20. But since you know I'm almost certain to crit this SoB (dwarf fighters deal triple damage when they crit on a natural 20), you use Boost to channel what would have been your Fireball spell into my swing. Fireball gets marked off your card, but no magical fire is created. Instead, the raw arcane energy that would have otherwise been converted into Fire gets shunted into the kinetic energy of my swing. Just to sweeten the deal, you use your Standard Action to cast Bull's Strength on me. I make a roundhouse at the BBEG with my Enormous Hammer of Definitely Not Compensating For Anything and squash it like a bug under a steel boot. I'm covered in gore and we emerge from the battle victorious. Later on in the tavern, I buy you your beverage of choice for being such an awesome team player.

In a variation of the above scenario, instead of casting Bull's Strength on me, you could have used your Standard Action [using an (Arch-)Mage Power requires a Free Action] to drink a healing potion, make a physical attack, or pretty much any other Standard Action.

Though it wasn't part of the scenario above, Boost is particularly useful if you're within an anti-magic zone because it is not negated by the anti-magic effect.

Does that answer your questions? If not, tell me what I didn't cover.


To state it another way.
Using Boost requires a FA to channel the arcane energy of a spell into the melee attack of an ally. The spell being channeled is marked off of my card. I may then use my standard action to execute any other action that normally requires a standard action (i.e. cast another spell, slide a melee or ranged attack, drink a potion, etc).
Is this correct?
The topic has been locked.

QTR 2021 Beta 1 year 9 months ago #89

  • Druegar
  • Druegar's Avatar Topic Author
  • Offline
  • 9th Level
  • Supporter
  • Enjoy Your Burrito
  • Posts: 9972

Dave wrote: To state it another way.
Using Boost requires a FA to channel the arcane energy of a spell into the melee attack of an ally. The spell being channeled is marked off of my card. I may then use my standard action to execute any other action that normally requires a standard action (i.e. cast another spell, slide a melee or ranged attack, drink a potion, etc).
Is this correct?

With the understanding that the spell you channeled into the ally's melee attack produces the same type of damage the weapon normally deals (not the damage type of the channeled spell), yes.
Have you looked it up in the TDb ?
Please post TDb corrections in this thread .
If I write something in teal, it should not be taken seriously
The topic has been locked.

QTR 2021 Beta 1 year 9 months ago #90

Druegar wrote:

Dave wrote: To state it another way.
Using Boost requires a FA to channel the arcane energy of a spell into the melee attack of an ally. The spell being channeled is marked off of my card. I may then use my standard action to execute any other action that normally requires a standard action (i.e. cast another spell, slide a melee or ranged attack, drink a potion, etc).
Is this correct?

With the understanding that the spell you channeled into the ally's melee attack produces the same type of damage the weapon normally deals (not the damage type of the channeled spell), yes.


Understood. I could also add that Boost will cost me 5 hp and I would be unable to use any other M/AM powers that round as you can only affect one spell per round. Really appreciate your responses. This actually makes Boost feel pretty powerful compared to how some people were interpreting it.
The topic has been locked.

QTR 2021 Beta 1 year 9 months ago #91

  • Druegar
  • Druegar's Avatar Topic Author
  • Offline
  • 9th Level
  • Supporter
  • Enjoy Your Burrito
  • Posts: 9972

Dave wrote: I could also add that Boost will cost me 5 hp

Whoops, forgot that part. :blush:
I just edited the scenario to include the damage from using an AMP.
Have you looked it up in the TDb ?
Please post TDb corrections in this thread .
If I write something in teal, it should not be taken seriously
The topic has been locked.

QTR 2021 Beta 1 year 9 months ago #92

Druegar wrote: Matthew Hayward, I think I understand now. 🤞

When you use Boost, you channel the magical energy from what would (could?) have been a spell you cast into the physical attack of an ally. Though you're not technically casting a spell, the spell consumed by Boost gets marked off your class card.

Here's a specific example (you're an elf wizard, I'm a dwarf fighter):
We're fighting the BBEG . During the course of our adventure, you've noticed I'm really good at sliding--I almost always land on the 20. It's getting down to the wire. Your only remaining offensive spell is Fireball. You're down to 9 HP, so you can't use MEC. The BBEG isn't extra-vulnerable to Fire, so the most damage a Fireball could do is 20. But since you know I'm almost certain to crit this SoB (dwarf fighters deal triple damage when they crit on a natural 20), you use Boost to channel what would have been your Fireball spell into my swing. Fireball gets marked off your card, you take 5 damage, but no magical fire is created. Instead, the raw arcane energy that would have otherwise been converted into Fire gets shunted into the kinetic energy of my swing. Just to sweeten the deal, you use your Standard Action to cast Bull's Strength on me. I make a roundhouse at the BBEG with my Enormous Hammer of Definitely Not Compensating For Anything and squash it like a bug under a steel boot. I'm covered in gore and we emerge from the battle victorious. Later on in the tavern, I buy you your beverage of choice for being such an awesome team player.

In a variation of the above scenario, instead of casting Bull's Strength on me, you could have used your Standard Action [using an (Arch-)Mage Power requires a Free Action] to drink a healing potion, make a physical attack, or pretty much any other Standard Action.

Though it wasn't part of the scenario above, Boost is particularly useful if you're within an anti-magic zone because it is not negated by the anti-magic effect.

Does that answer your questions? If not, tell me what I didn't cover.


Yes that is very clear - thank you.

A few follow up "interaction with other mage powers" questions. (Note: I expect the answer to all of these is "No" - I'm just trying to cover the bases here):

1. When I use Boost, may I also use Sharpen to grant my ally a crit range of 18+ on their slid attack?

2. When I use Boost, may I also use Fork to grant my ally the ability to affect two different monster targets with a single melee or missile attack?

3. When I use Boost, may I also use Conserve to get the effect of Boost without marking off any spells?

Final thing - I believe Jeff answered a question in the READ THIS... thread stating that when Boost is used on a Monk or Ranger making a two puck attack, the damage bonus is applied only to a single puck, and not to both. It might be worthwhile explaining how that works (e.g. does it all go onto the puck with the higher slide? Is it 1/2 on each puck rounded down, etc.)
Last edit: by Matthew Hayward.
The topic has been locked.

QTR 2021 Beta 1 year 9 months ago #93

Page 14:
Double strike and Power attack have been tagged with [1/room].
As far as I knew these powers can be used as often as you wanted to but I could be wrong.

As always you are doing an amazing job Druegar!
If you liked my room, my name is Steve. If you didn't like my room, my name is Hoolio
The topic has been locked.

QTR 2021 Beta 1 year 9 months ago #94

  • Druegar
  • Druegar's Avatar Topic Author
  • Offline
  • 9th Level
  • Supporter
  • Enjoy Your Burrito
  • Posts: 9972

Matthew Hayward wrote: 1. When I use Boost, may I also use Sharpen to grant my ally a crit range of 18+ on their slid attack?
2. When I use Boost, may I also use Fork to grant my ally the ability to affect two different monster targets with a single melee or missile attack?
3. When I use Boost, may I also use Conserve to get the effect of Boost without marking off any spells?

As you suspected, no to all. Boost cannot be combined with any other AMP/MP.

Matthew Hayward wrote: when Boost is used on a Monk or Ranger making a two puck attack, the damage bonus is applied only to a single puck, and not to both.

Good call. Boost's description now states:
If you use boost on a monk making a flurry of blows attack or a ranger making a dual-weapon melee attack, it can only affect one of the slides. It automatically affects the best of the two slides, as determined after all the pucks for that round have been slid.

Yes, this changes an earlier ruling , but I think this way is both easier for the DM to handle (less math) and more beneficial to the players.
Have you looked it up in the TDb ?
Please post TDb corrections in this thread .
If I write something in teal, it should not be taken seriously
Last edit: by Druegar.
The topic has been locked.

QTR 2021 Beta 1 year 9 months ago #95

  • Druegar
  • Druegar's Avatar Topic Author
  • Offline
  • 9th Level
  • Supporter
  • Enjoy Your Burrito
  • Posts: 9972

FatalDrakkon wrote: Double strike and Power attack have been tagged with [1/room].
As far as I knew these powers can be used as often as you wanted to but I could be wrong.

I was not able to find a reference to them being usable at will, but I double-checked with Jeff and confirmed 1/room is intended. If there was an earlier version that allowed them to be used at will, this replaces it.
Have you looked it up in the TDb ?
Please post TDb corrections in this thread .
If I write something in teal, it should not be taken seriously
The topic has been locked.

QTR 2021 Beta 1 year 9 months ago #96

Druegar wrote:

FatalDrakkon wrote: Double strike and Power attack have been tagged with [1/room].
As far as I knew these powers can be used as often as you wanted to but I could be wrong.

I was not able to find a reference to them being usable at will, but I double-checked with Jeff and confirmed 1/room is intended. If there was an earlier version that allowed them to be used at will, this replaces it.


Well that's.... let's go with surprising. I don't recall any reference to a 1/room limitation at any point during token development. IMHO, its a nerf, but I have no interest in arguing about it at this point.
D&D teaches all the important lessons in life - the low blow, the cheap shot, the back stab, the double cross. - Jerry Marsischky

Let them trap us. We have our swords. - Elric of Melnibone.

You try to get them to play the game, but all they want to do is play the rules. - Ardak Kumerian

I do not love the bright sword for its sharpness, nor the arrow for its swiftness, nor the warrior for his glory. I love only that which they defend - Faramir
The topic has been locked.
Time to create page: 0.198 seconds