Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me
  • Page:
  • 1
  • 2

TOPIC: Hitchhiking Ghost Tokens

Hitchhiking Ghost Tokens 7 months 2 weeks ago #1

I am looking at the Hitchhiking Ghost tokens, and working on code to incorporate them, and have a question.
Taking Bog as an example.

In the token database, Hitchhiking Ghost: Bog , it says 'The user may equip one additional Rare eye slot item.' I am taking that to mean that the player cannot equip a common or uncommon token in the eye slot. It must be strictly a Rare Eye Slot token. Is that the correct interpretation?

Thanks!

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Hitchhiking Ghost Tokens 7 months 2 weeks ago #2

I'm not TPTB, but I would say yes.

Comparable history exists for the Runestone Fitting Base, which allows only Rare runestones.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Hitchhiking Ghost Tokens 7 months 2 weeks ago #3

I agree. Though I am saving mine for the next Lorigorgon...
D&D teaches all the important lessons in life - the low blow, the cheap shot, the back stab, the double cross. - Jerry Marsischky

Let them trap us. We have our swords. - Elric of Melnibone.

You try to get them to play the game, but all they want to do is play the rules. - Ardak Kumerian

I do not love the bright sword for its sharpness, nor the arrow for its swiftness, nor the warrior for his glory. I love only that which they defend - Faramir

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Hitchhiking Ghost Tokens 7 months 2 weeks ago #4

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Hitchhiking Ghost Tokens 7 months 2 weeks ago #5

So with this you can now equip three eye slots by using Cranston's too.
Fall down......Go boom!

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Hitchhiking Ghost Tokens 7 months 2 weeks ago #6

Hmmm debatable. Cranston's says you can equip 2 not you may equip an additional. It might be ruled that Cranston's hard limits you to just 2.
You either discover a star or you don't. You arrogant punk.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Hitchhiking Ghost Tokens 7 months 2 weeks ago #7

Cranston wrote: In the token database, Hitchhiking Ghost: Bog , it says 'The user may equip one additional Rare eye slot item.' I am taking that to mean that the player cannot equip a common or uncommon token in the eye slot. It must be strictly a Rare Eye Slot token. Is that the correct interpretation?

The additional eye-slot item must be Rare. Not Common, not Uncommon, not Ultra Rare, not Transmuted, not any rarity other than precisely Rare and only Rare.
There is no restriction on the rarity of the initial (not additional) eye-slot item.
Have you looked it up in the TDb ?
Please post TDb corrections/suggestions in this thread .
If I write something in teal, it should not be taken seriously.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Hitchhiking Ghost Tokens 7 months 2 weeks ago #8

Thank you for all the excellent replies!

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Hitchhiking Ghost Tokens 7 months 2 weeks ago #9

jedibcg Banjo 815 Lover wrote: Hmmm debatable. Cranston's says you can equip 2 not you may equip an additional. It might be ruled that Cranston's hard limits you to just 2.


I think Jedi's right - Cranston's was changed from "+1 additional eyes slot" to "may equip up to 2" in the design process.

This seems intentional.

Ring granting expanders don't stack either (they all allow a 3rd ring).

Charm and Ioun expanders stack (they say you may equip an additional X).

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Hitchhiking Ghost Tokens 7 months 2 weeks ago #10

Matthew Hayward wrote:

jedibcg Banjo 815 Lover wrote: Hmmm debatable. Cranston's says you can equip 2 not you may equip an additional. It might be ruled that Cranston's hard limits you to just 2.


I think Jedi's right - Cranston's was changed from "+1 additional eyes slot" to "may equip up to 2" in the design process.

This seems intentional.

Ring granting expanders don't stack either (they all allow a 3rd ring).

Charm and Ioun expanders stack (they say you may equip an additional X).


IIRC all finger expanders say “3 rings” so they can’t possibly stack.

The Ghost effectively says “+1” so I think it would take you to three so long as at least one of the three is a rare. Pending errata of course. And for a limited consumable I think that’s fine.
barkley.neo.rr.com -->see my trade thread HERE , my eBay store HERE or my web store HERE
"Ceci n'est pas une pipe" - Magritte

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Hitchhiking Ghost Tokens 7 months 2 weeks ago #11

Brad Mortensen wrote:

Matthew Hayward wrote:

jedibcg Banjo 815 Lover wrote: Hmmm debatable. Cranston's says you can equip 2 not you may equip an additional. It might be ruled that Cranston's hard limits you to just 2.


I think Jedi's right - Cranston's was changed from "+1 additional eyes slot" to "may equip up to 2" in the design process.

This seems intentional.

Ring granting expanders don't stack either (they all allow a 3rd ring).

Charm and Ioun expanders stack (they say you may equip an additional X).


IIRC all finger expanders say “3 rings” so they can’t possibly stack.

The Ghost effectively says “+1” so I think it would take you to three so long as at least one of the three is a rare. Pending errata of course. And for a limited consumable I think that’s fine.

If Cranston’s allows up to 2, it may not add anything after the ghost is applied, as you have reached 2. Depends on the order of operations - add 1 from shog, then check Cranston’s only Nets 2, while the reverse nets 3.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Hitchhiking Ghost Tokens 7 months 2 weeks ago #12

Endgame wrote:

Brad Mortensen wrote:

Matthew Hayward wrote:

jedibcg Banjo 815 Lover wrote: Hmmm debatable. Cranston's says you can equip 2 not you may equip an additional. It might be ruled that Cranston's hard limits you to just 2.


I think Jedi's right - Cranston's was changed from "+1 additional eyes slot" to "may equip up to 2" in the design process.

This seems intentional.

Ring granting expanders don't stack either (they all allow a 3rd ring).

Charm and Ioun expanders stack (they say you may equip an additional X).


IIRC all finger expanders say “3 rings” so they can’t possibly stack.

The Ghost effectively says “+1” so I think it would take you to three so long as at least one of the three is a rare. Pending errata of course. And for a limited consumable I think that’s fine.

If Cranston’s allows up to 2, it may not add anything after the ghost is applied, as you have reached 2. Depends on the order of operations - add 1 from shog, then check Cranston’s only Nets 2, while the reverse nets 3.


True, but if that was what was intended then the Ghost should say “2 belts” as well, not +1. So while I agree it’s ambiguous I think Judge Judy would say you get three.
barkley.neo.rr.com -->see my trade thread HERE , my eBay store HERE or my web store HERE
"Ceci n'est pas une pipe" - Magritte

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Last edit: by Brad Mortensen.
  • Page:
  • 1
  • 2
Time to create page: 0.197 seconds