Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me
  • Page:
  • 1

TOPIC: Shaman’s Greater Necklace and Iktomi's Shaper Necklace question

Shaman’s Greater Necklace and Iktomi's Shaper Necklace question 1 week 5 days ago #1

  • jedibcg
  • jedibcg's Avatar Topic Author
  • Away
  • 8th Level
  • Supporter
  • What is personal text?
  • Posts: 7837
Shaman's tokendb says

Characters cannot use spells or any physical items while polymorphed. They do, however, retain their initial Armor Class, Hit Points, and any combat bonuses or penalties recorded on the party card. When polymorphed, melee stats are used to calculate combat modifiers. This token is used in the combat slider for attacks.

This is missing from Iktomi's. Instead it has

In addition, the wearer may use any polymorph potion as an Instantaneous Action–without having to turn in the potion token. Even when polymorphed into a potion-based creature, the wearer can cast spells and speak.

My question though mostly is in regard to Shaman'

It says you retain 'any combat bonuses or penalties recorded on the party card.' What about bonuses not on the party card. So like if you have a tokens that provide damage reduction to melee do you lose that damage reduction?
You either discover a star or you don't. You arrogant punk.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Shaman’s Greater Necklace and Iktomi's Shaper Necklace question 1 week 1 day ago #2

  • jedibcg
  • jedibcg's Avatar Topic Author
  • Away
  • 8th Level
  • Supporter
  • What is personal text?
  • Posts: 7837
just bumping this because it is post ghc and I am still curious.
You either discover a star or you don't. You arrogant punk.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Shaman’s Greater Necklace and Iktomi's Shaper Necklace question 1 week 18 hours ago #3

jedibcg wrote: just bumping this because it is post ghc and I am still curious.


How do those types of bonuses interact with a traditional polymorph potion?
I play Wizard.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Shaman’s Greater Necklace and Iktomi's Shaper Necklace question 1 week 18 hours ago #4

jedibcg wrote: just bumping this because it is post ghc and I am still curious.

you should have walked into the transmute room and asked...I will wait for the dream crusher to respond
delpchad.blogspot.com/

First solo Nightmare survivor-2014 Viper pit

Allergic to Lori

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Shaman’s Greater Necklace and Iktomi's Shaper Necklace question 1 week 18 hours ago #5

  • jedibcg
  • jedibcg's Avatar Topic Author
  • Away
  • 8th Level
  • Supporter
  • What is personal text?
  • Posts: 7837

lazlo_hollyfeld1985 wrote: you should have walked into the transmute room and asked...I will wait for the dream crusher to respond

I was too busy at GHC.....doing nothing and honestly I forgot about it until after my group's last run when the player using it asked about if it stacked.


Anthony Barnstable wrote: How do those types of bonuses interact with a traditional polymorph potion?


Dunno tokendb didn't help with that either.
You either discover a star or you don't. You arrogant punk.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Last edit: by jedibcg.

Shaman’s Greater Necklace and Iktomi's Shaper Necklace question 3 days 20 hours ago #6

  • jedibcg
  • jedibcg's Avatar Topic Author
  • Away
  • 8th Level
  • Supporter
  • What is personal text?
  • Posts: 7837
Okay according to the PHB"
Characters .... do, however, retain their Armor Class, Hit Points, and any combat bonuses or penalties recorded on the party card, but also including items with conditional bonuses not recorded on the party card (e.g., BLISS AXE, DWARVEN DIRK, STAFF OF STRIKING, etc.)

However I don't know if Damage Reduction is a conditional bonus so it doesn't really answer the question.

Also from the PHB
Damage Resistance (Reduction): This special ability absorbs (nullifies) a certain amount of damage. It’s typically written as DR X, where X is the quantity of damage absorbed. Sometimes it absorbs all forms of damage, sometimes it’s restricted to a specific type of damage. DR 5 means that the first 5 points of damage from any (except Eldritch or Push) are negated. DR 5 Fire means that the first 5 points of Fire damage are negated, but all other forms of damage are unaffected.

Doesn't same if it is a conditional bonus...or a bonus at all.

DM guide was no help.
You either discover a star or you don't. You arrogant punk.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Shaman’s Greater Necklace and Iktomi's Shaper Necklace question 3 days 20 hours ago #7

I'm sure there are circumstances where this may not apply, but as a general rule, DR is not a Conditional Bonus.
Have you looked it up in the TDb ?
Please post TDb corrections/suggestions in this thread .
If I write something in teal, it should not be taken seriously.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Shaman’s Greater Necklace and Iktomi's Shaper Necklace question 3 days 19 hours ago #8

  • jedibcg
  • jedibcg's Avatar Topic Author
  • Away
  • 8th Level
  • Supporter
  • What is personal text?
  • Posts: 7837
So therefore you do not get any DR you previous had while polymorphed?
You either discover a star or you don't. You arrogant punk.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Shaman’s Greater Necklace and Iktomi's Shaper Necklace question 3 days 17 hours ago #9

As a general rule, unless specifically stated otherwise or if doing so would be illogical, one retains DR while polymorphed.
Have you looked it up in the TDb ?
Please post TDb corrections/suggestions in this thread .
If I write something in teal, it should not be taken seriously.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Shaman’s Greater Necklace and Iktomi's Shaper Necklace question 3 days 17 hours ago #10

  • jedibcg
  • jedibcg's Avatar Topic Author
  • Away
  • 8th Level
  • Supporter
  • What is personal text?
  • Posts: 7837

Druegar wrote: As a general rule, unless specifically stated otherwise or if doing so would be illogical, one retains DR while polymorphed.


Excellent thank you.
You either discover a star or you don't. You arrogant punk.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Page:
  • 1
Time to create page: 0.187 seconds