Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me

TOPIC: Shaman's Necklace Question

Shaman's Necklace Question 2 years 7 months ago #25

kurtreznor wrote:

Bhorg wrote: “One may not polymorph into more than one creature (nor into different elemental types) per room, but transforming into and out of the same creature more than once per room is allowed–assuming one has the means to do so.“

When choosing any polymorph form, you are locked into that form for the whole room.
So you cannot start as human, poly into elemental for attack, then human again and bonus action potion (or legendary) into gremlin. That is already disallowed.


Yes, we realize it is disallowed and think it is a poor rule. And since it is only in documents that can be changed withoit token eratta, we are asking TPTB to consider some changes.


I'd like it to be no more than one creature per round instead of room, otherwise I'm OK with it. And I'm pretty much OK with it even if that doesn't change.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Shaman's Necklace Question 2 years 7 months ago #26

Mike Steele wrote:

kurtreznor wrote:

Bhorg wrote: “One may not polymorph into more than one creature (nor into different elemental types) per room, but transforming into and out of the same creature more than once per room is allowed–assuming one has the means to do so.“

When choosing any polymorph form, you are locked into that form for the whole room.
So you cannot start as human, poly into elemental for attack, then human again and bonus action potion (or legendary) into gremlin. That is already disallowed.


Yes, we realize it is disallowed and think it is a poor rule. And since it is only in documents that can be changed withoit token eratta, we are asking TPTB to consider some changes.


I'd like it to be no more than one creature per round instead of room, otherwise I'm OK with it. And I'm pretty much OK with it even if that doesn't change.


If you start a round as a gremlin, depoly to human, then poly to elemental, that’s three creature types in one round. It’s crazy.

Just spell out what actions a polymorphed caster can perform (cast, wand,scroll, potion, whatever), and make the power of the Necklaces usable once per room. So much simpler.

Then if someone wanted to burn a new polypot every round, more power to them.
barkley.neo.rr.com -->see my trade thread HERE , my eBay store HERE or my web store HERE
"Ceci n'est pas une pipe" - Magritte

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Last edit: by Brad Mortensen.

Shaman's Necklace Question 2 years 7 months ago #27

3 creature types in one round is already not allowed. Even with my recommended change it wouldn't be allowed.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Shaman's Necklace Question 2 years 7 months ago #28

kurtreznor wrote: But it doesnt prevent the primary sleaze (that lets the polymorph druid de-poly, cast spells and use items, and just re-poly after). The only 'sleaze' being prevented by the rule is switching to a different non-elemental creature via a potion...and i dont understand why that was deemed to be a problem, and i suspect that that was not the purpose target of the rule. Hence, suggesting and alternative rule to address what i think is the bigger issue.


I agree that the Relic (and to an extent- Legendary) sleeze of poly/un-poly to mix & match your actions between forms is the primary issue.

In one of our previous discussions about relic sleeze, it seemed like you were in favor of relic users being able to poly/un-poly to cast spells: 2019 polymorph item errata (it's a good thing)

kurtreznor wrote: Oi, something that seems to be forgotten: the details of the new druid item did specify that you had to choose ONE elemental form per room. So, no switching between fire and water. But the items didnt specify that you could only polymorph 1/room, so that is still a valid question.

Whatever is decided, i just ask that the relic not get nerfed for the sole purpose of making the legendary a bigger upgrade. If the relic is good how it is but the legendary is barely better, then give the legendary a small boost...most of the effect text isnt on the token anyway.

Edit: for the record, i dont consider casting while polymorph to be that great, usually if you are casting in a room you arent polymorphed. It is mostly useful in grind where combat takes longer and you might need to stop attacking for a round to cast a heal


I think I misunderstood what you meant in that thread by not powering down the Relic. I had thought your intention was to say that owners of the Relic should be able to cast.

As far as the single-creature ruling, all I can conjecture is that TPTB are trying to cut down on situations like the following:

Example 1
Polymorph into a Viper without turning in the potion. Attack hoping to land a 20. Poly into a Lemure to gain fire resistance.
Next round poly back to Viper for the damage wheel. Rinse & repeat.

Example 2
Polymorph into a Brownie to gain the defensive bonuses.
Poly to Viper instantaneously to get the superior damage wheel before poly-ing back to Brownie to get the AC & saves boost during monster turn.
"IMHO we like to solve problems here on the forums that are only perceived problems due to a myopic view." -Bob Chasan

My trade list
Do you have Onyx polymorph Potions?

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Shaman's Necklace Question 2 years 7 months ago #29

Arnold wrote:

kurtreznor wrote: But it doesnt prevent the primary sleaze (that lets the polymorph druid de-poly, cast spells and use items, and just re-poly after). The only 'sleaze' being prevented by the rule is switching to a different non-elemental creature via a potion...and i dont understand why that was deemed to be a problem, and i suspect that that was not the purpose target of the rule. Hence, suggesting and alternative rule to address what i think is the bigger issue.


I agree that the Relic (and to an extent- Legendary) sleeze of poly/un-poly to mix & match your actions between forms is the primary issue.

In one of our previous discussions about relic sleeze, it seemed like you were in favor of relic users being able to poly/un-poly to cast spells: 2019 polymorph item errata (it's a good thing)

kurtreznor wrote: Oi, something that seems to be forgotten: the details of the new druid item did specify that you had to choose ONE elemental form per room. So, no switching between fire and water. But the items didnt specify that you could only polymorph 1/room, so that is still a valid question.

Whatever is decided, i just ask that the relic not get nerfed for the sole purpose of making the legendary a bigger upgrade. If the relic is good how it is but the legendary is barely better, then give the legendary a small boost...most of the effect text isnt on the token anyway.

Edit: for the record, i dont consider casting while polymorph to be that great, usually if you are casting in a room you arent polymorphed. It is mostly useful in grind where combat takes longer and you might need to stop attacking for a round to cast a heal


I think I misunderstood what you meant in that thread by not powering down the Relic. I had thought your intention was to say that owners of the Relic should be able to cast.

As far as the single-creature ruling, all I can conjecture is that TPTB are trying to cut down on situations like the following:

Example 1
Polymorph into a Viper without turning in the potion. Attack hoping to land a 20. Poly into a Lemure to gain fire resistance.
Next round poly back to Viper for the damage wheel. Rinse & repeat.

Example 2
Polymorph into a Brownie to gain the defensive bonuses.
Poly to Viper instantaneously to get the superior damage wheel before poly-ing back to Brownie to get the AC & saves boost during monster turn.


Hmm, ok, so sleaze options without leaning on elementals. How about we flip the rule to allow changing your mind but limit the sleaze...

Only poly into each creature 1/room.

So, if you attack as viper, then drop it to be brownie for defense, you cant go back to viper next round. Then you drop brownie for next attack as cobra, no more brownie for rest of combat.
this is not a signature.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Time to create page: 0.170 seconds