Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me

TOPIC: +2 Staff of Power

Re: +2 Staff of Power 10 years 2 months ago #13

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Re: +2 Staff of Power 10 years 2 months ago #14

Mike Steele wrote: Out of curiosity - is it documented in the Token Guide or elsewhere that you are locked into using items that are giving you a set bonus, or is that just a ruling from the forums? Page 6 of the Token Guide talks about all the sets, but says nothing about being locked into tokens that give set abilities.


No it currently is not, but Jeff made it fairly clear, so I will be adding it to the set bonuses section of the token guide. That is when I can carve some time to get the new version out there.

Dave
You should know better than to pick up a duck in a dungeon....

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Re: +2 Staff of Power 10 years 2 months ago #15

dbradical wrote:

Mike Steele wrote: Out of curiosity - is it documented in the Token Guide or elsewhere that you are locked into using items that are giving you a set bonus, or is that just a ruling from the forums? Page 6 of the Token Guide talks about all the sets, but says nothing about being locked into tokens that give set abilities.


No it currently is not, but Jeff made it fairly clear, so I will be adding it to the set bonuses section of the token guide. That is when I can carve some time to get the new version out there.

Dave


Thanks, Dave! No hurry on the update, I know how busy you are. Thahks again for everything you do for True Dungeon!! :)

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Re: +2 Staff of Power 10 years 2 months ago #16

Another question regarding the Staff - Can you use it with the Bracelets of the Zephyr to only burn off one spell (e.g. a magic missile) while casting it twice in the same round?

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Re: +2 Staff of Power 10 years 2 months ago #17

No, you can't. The Staff cast the spell as if it were a scroll, so it cannot be modified by any equipment.
The Worst Rogue Ever!
Member of the Michigan Marauders
Ranger Extra-ordinary
--Rocky


BEWARE THERE ARE SILVER BULETTES NEARBY!

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Re: +2 Staff of Power 10 years 2 months ago #18

As if it were a scroll?? Does that mean Magic Missile does only 4 points of damage?

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Re: +2 Staff of Power 10 years 2 months ago #19

  • Xavon
  • Xavon's Avatar
  • Offline
  • 7th Level
  • Supporter
  • Obligation is the sincerest form of insanity
  • Posts: 3155
Nope, just means Staff spells are exactly as written on the player card, and cannot be modified by items (Bracelets of the Zephyr, Ring of Focus) or by a Planes test.
Applications programming is a race between software engineers, who strive to produce idiot-proof programs, and the Universe, which strives to produce bigger idiots.  <br /><br />So far, the Universe is winning.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Re: +2 Staff of Power 10 years 2 months ago #20

"As a scroll" is shorthand for cannot be affected by magic items of any kind. They also cannot be affected by the skill test. In the case of casting Magic Missile from the Staff of Power it would do the 8 points of damage.
Casting Burning Hands from the Staff would deal 6 points of damage. It cannot be modified by Circlet of Elemental Mastery.
Also, last year 0 level spells were considered 1st level spells in relation to the Staff of Power.

What I don't know about the Staff of Power interaction is Instant Shield. I cast Instant Shield through the Staff of Power. I now cast Magic Missile. Can I use the Bracelets of the Zephyr with Magic Missile to cast a THIRD spell?
The Worst Rogue Ever!
Member of the Michigan Marauders
Ranger Extra-ordinary
--Rocky


BEWARE THERE ARE SILVER BULETTES NEARBY!

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Re: +2 Staff of Power 10 years 2 months ago #21

darkangel866 wrote: "As a scroll" is shorthand for cannot be affected by magic items of any kind. They also cannot be affected by the skill test. In the case of casting Magic Missile from the Staff of Power it would do the 8 points of damage.
Casting Burning Hands from the Staff would deal 6 points of damage. It cannot be modified by Circlet of Elemental Mastery.
Also, last year 0 level spells were considered 1st level spells in relation to the Staff of Power.

What I don't know about the Staff of Power interaction is Instant Shield. I cast Instant Shield through the Staff of Power. I now cast Magic Missile. Can I use the Bracelets of the Zephyr with Magic Missile to cast a THIRD spell?


I would think casting any spell with the Staff of Power will take your entire turn.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Re: +2 Staff of Power 10 years 2 months ago #22

Mike, if that is true (about it taking the entire round), can you use it to cast Alertness at the very beginning?

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Re: +2 Staff of Power 10 years 2 months ago #23

Mike Steele wrote:

darkangel866 wrote: "As a scroll" is shorthand for cannot be affected by magic items of any kind. They also cannot be affected by the skill test. In the case of casting Magic Missile from the Staff of Power it would do the 8 points of damage.
Casting Burning Hands from the Staff would deal 6 points of damage. It cannot be modified by Circlet of Elemental Mastery.
Also, last year 0 level spells were considered 1st level spells in relation to the Staff of Power.

What I don't know about the Staff of Power interaction is Instant Shield. I cast Instant Shield through the Staff of Power. I now cast Magic Missile. Can I use the Bracelets of the Zephyr with Magic Missile to cast a THIRD spell?


I would think casting any spell with the Staff of Power will take your entire turn.


The only problem with that logic is the wording on the spell itself:

"AC-16, 1 room, instantly cast, may take other action"

The spell specifically states the caster can take other action. I brought this up on the Elf Wizard page and nothing has been said about it.
The Worst Rogue Ever!
Member of the Michigan Marauders
Ranger Extra-ordinary
--Rocky


BEWARE THERE ARE SILVER BULETTES NEARBY!

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Re: +2 Staff of Power 10 years 2 months ago #24

darkangel866 wrote:

Mike Steele wrote:

darkangel866 wrote: "As a scroll" is shorthand for cannot be affected by magic items of any kind. They also cannot be affected by the skill test. In the case of casting Magic Missile from the Staff of Power it would do the 8 points of damage.
Casting Burning Hands from the Staff would deal 6 points of damage. It cannot be modified by Circlet of Elemental Mastery.
Also, last year 0 level spells were considered 1st level spells in relation to the Staff of Power.

What I don't know about the Staff of Power interaction is Instant Shield. I cast Instant Shield through the Staff of Power. I now cast Magic Missile. Can I use the Bracelets of the Zephyr with Magic Missile to cast a THIRD spell?


I would think casting any spell with the Staff of Power will take your entire turn.


The only problem with that logic is the wording on the spell itself:

"AC-16, 1 room, instantly cast, may take other action"

The spell specifically states the caster can take other action. I brought this up on the Elf Wizard page and nothing has been said about it.


Maybe cast this as a spell, and then do a different spell from the Staff?

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Time to create page: 0.184 seconds