Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me

TOPIC: Rules Clarification Needed: Relics

Rules Clarification Needed: Relics 10 years 4 months ago #1

Question:
If I am reading correctly, a player can use two +3 Viper Strike Fangs if they are a Ranger or Monk as it is a Relic and not subject to the only 1 item of a name rule, correct?

IF SO, does this also apply to the Icecrag Hero's Charm? Or the Ring of Greater Spell Focus? Can a player wear two of these?

Thanks much...
Preminant Resident of the State of Confusion
Part-Time Cat Herder

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Last edit: by Fizzikx.

Re: Rules Clarification Needed: Relics 10 years 4 months ago #2

No. 2 VSF can be used because they are weapons. They add to the set bonus because they are relics.
The Worst Rogue Ever!
Member of the Michigan Marauders
Ranger Extra-ordinary
--Rocky


BEWARE THERE ARE SILVER BULETTES NEARBY!

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Re: Rules Clarification Needed: Relics 10 years 4 months ago #3

Thanks!
Preminant Resident of the State of Confusion
Part-Time Cat Herder

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Re: Rules Clarification Needed: Relics 10 years 4 months ago #4

  • henwy
  • henwy's Avatar
  • Offline
  • 9th Level
  • Supporter
  • Stirring the pot since '94
  • Posts: 7432
I thought two of the same item never added. Thast's why I'm using one relic and one UR.

This image is hidden for guests.
Please log in or register to see it.



I'm like a ray of sunshine. Cancerous.

Henwy's LiveJournal

Don't make me maul you with my fearsome gonads

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Re: Rules Clarification Needed: Relics 10 years 4 months ago #5

henwy wrote: I thought two of the same item never added. Thast's why I'm using one relic and one UR.


Weapons are the exception, although I think the Viper Strike set is the only exception right now. Also it only counts for Relic and Legendary level tokens.

From the DMG (pg. 14):

Set Bonuses & Duplicate Weapons
If both the weapons being wielded are part of the same set and are either Relics (blue title with a ***** near the bottom) or Legendaries (orange title and backing), they count as two items toward fulfilling that set’s quota. E.g., when trying to qualify for the Viper Strike set bonus, a monk could wield two +3 VIPER STRIKE FANGS (Relics) and wear one other Viper Strike item to qualify for the Viper Strike set bonus. Similarly, a ranger could wield two ASHER’S +5 VIPER STRIKE FANGS and they would count as two items toward the Viper Strike set. Wielding two +2 VIPER STRIKE FANGs (Ultra Rares) would only count as a single item toward the set’s quota because neither of those are Relics or Legendaries.
A character capable of wielding two weapons may wield two weapons with the same name regardless of rarity, but they only count as two items toward fulfilling a set bonus if both are either Relics or Legendaries. Putting it another way, wielding two same-named Common, Uncommon, Rare, Ultra Rare, Enhanced (***), or Exalted (****) weapons only count as a single item toward qualifying for a set bonus, but wielding two same-named Relic (*****) or Legendary weapons counts as two items toward the set.
Different-named set-piece weapons count as two items toward the set’s quota, regardless of rarity.
Note: Other than weapons and RUNESTONE FITTING BASEs, no character may equip more than one item of the same name—no matter what rarity the items are.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Last edit: by Joshua Baessler.

Re: Rules Clarification Needed: Relics 10 years 4 months ago #6

Cookie to you! Now where is the cookie! LOL
Team Legacy
Yes I'm an Arneson you do the math.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Re: Rules Clarification Needed: Relics 10 years 4 months ago #7

  • henwy
  • henwy's Avatar
  • Offline
  • 9th Level
  • Supporter
  • Stirring the pot since '94
  • Posts: 7432
That must've slipped by me at some point. Also...what a stupid loophole to what had been such a simple rule. No token should ever duplicate its effect when two of them are used. There was no reason to create this work-around just for relics and it's completely non-intuitive to boot. If, for some reason, there were only two items in the viper strike set it might be somewhat justifiable but still.

This image is hidden for guests.
Please log in or register to see it.



I'm like a ray of sunshine. Cancerous.

Henwy's LiveJournal

Don't make me maul you with my fearsome gonads

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Re: Rules Clarification Needed: Relics 10 years 4 months ago #8

henwy wrote: That must've slipped by me at some point. Also...what a stupid loophole to what had been such a simple rule. No token should ever duplicate its effect when two of them are used. There was no reason to create this work-around just for relics and it's completely non-intuitive to boot. If, for some reason, there were only two items in the viper strike set it might be somewhat justifiable but still.

While I dislike loopholes like this, I can see the logic behind it:

A player has a +2 Fang and a +3 Fang. He doesn't have the resources to make a +5. If it upgrades the +2 to +3, he loses the set bonus.

With this exception, he isn't "penalized" for upgrading his second Fang from +2 to +3.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Re: Rules Clarification Needed: Relics 10 years 3 months ago #9

Incognito wrote:

henwy wrote: That must've slipped by me at some point. Also...what a stupid loophole to what had been such a simple rule. No token should ever duplicate its effect when two of them are used. There was no reason to create this work-around just for relics and it's completely non-intuitive to boot. If, for some reason, there were only two items in the viper strike set it might be somewhat justifiable but still.

While I dislike loopholes like this, I can see the logic behind it:

A player has a +2 Fang and a +3 Fang. He doesn't have the resources to make a +5. If it upgrades the +2 to +3, he loses the set bonus.

With this exception, he isn't "penalized" for upgrading his second Fang from +2 to +3.


Yeah, and if somebody was insane enough to wield two +5 VSFs...
My online token shop: www.tdtavern.com

We buy, sell, and trade True Dungeon tokens. We also have a convenient consignment program where you can sell your own tokens.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Re: Rules Clarification Needed: Relics 10 years 3 months ago #10

Kirk Bauer wrote: Yeah, and if somebody was insane enough to wield two +5 VSFs...

Only with your wife's permission!! :woohoo:
Useful Links:
TD Character Creator
Amorgen's Excel Char Gen Tool
Token DataBase
Talking TD Podcast

TD Accomplishments:
Member of the first team to survive Epic True Grind
1st Solo NM as Poly Druid
Proud member of Gas Station Sushi
Don't Nerf Our Tokens!

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Re: Rules Clarification Needed: Relics 10 years 3 months ago #11

joshua baessler wrote:

henwy wrote: I thought two of the same item never added. Thast's why I'm using one relic and one UR.


Weapons are the exception, although I think the Viper Strike set is the only exception right now. Also it only counts for Relic and Legendary level tokens.

From the DMG (pg. 14):

Set Bonuses & Duplicate Weapons
If both the weapons being wielded are part of the same set and are either Relics (blue title with a ***** near the bottom) or Legendaries (orange title and backing), they count as two items toward fulfilling that set’s quota. E.g., when trying to qualify for the Viper Strike set bonus, a monk could wield two +3 VIPER STRIKE FANGS (Relics) and wear one other Viper Strike item to qualify for the Viper Strike set bonus. Similarly, a ranger could wield two ASHER’S +5 VIPER STRIKE FANGS and they would count as two items toward the Viper Strike set. Wielding two +2 VIPER STRIKE FANGs (Ultra Rares) would only count as a single item toward the set’s quota because neither of those are Relics or Legendaries.
A character capable of wielding two weapons may wield two weapons with the same name regardless of rarity, but they only count as two items toward fulfilling a set bonus if both are either Relics or Legendaries. Putting it another way, wielding two same-named Common, Uncommon, Rare, Ultra Rare, Enhanced (***), or Exalted (****) weapons only count as a single item toward qualifying for a set bonus, but wielding two same-named Relic (*****) or Legendary weapons counts as two items toward the set.
Different-named set-piece weapons count as two items toward the set’s quota, regardless of rarity.
Note: Other than weapons and RUNESTONE FITTING BASEs, no character may equip more than one item of the same name—no matter what rarity the items are.


That is one really confusing ruling. I'd prefer Relics and Legendaries be treated the same way as UR's and below - you can use two weapons of the same name, but they don't double-count for the set bonus. Was this ruling just a way to try to incentivize people to transmute to get Relics and Legendary weapons?

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Re: Rules Clarification Needed: Relics 10 years 3 months ago #12

  • Raven
  • Raven's Avatar
  • Away
  • 12th Level
  • Supporter
  • Guildmaster Nightshade
  • Posts: 6802

Mike Steele wrote: That is one really confusing ruling. I'd prefer Relics and Legendaries be treated the same way as UR's and below - you can use two weapons of the same name, but they don't double-count for the set bonus. Was this ruling just a way to try to incentivize people to transmute to get Relics and Legendary weapons?


I think it wasn't so much to incentivize: people were lining up to throw GP and trade items into this transmute. It was to keep from punishing people who upgraded, and lost their set bonus.
"THERE WILL NEVER BE A TOKEN EQUAL TO A GOOD BRAIN!"- Smakdown

Check out these awesome resources:
Cranston's Character Generator for iDevices or Android
Amorgen's Excel Character Generator
And the ever-useful Token DataBase , expertly maintained by Druegar.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Time to create page: 0.121 seconds