Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me
  • Page:
  • 1

TOPIC: Contradiction question

Contradiction question 5 days 20 hours ago #1

When two items contradict each other which one takes president?

Cooks hat says you can’t equip more than 4 IS but arcane bracelets says 2 more. So does the original equip max get bumped down to 4 then the bracelets give you two more? Or does the hat take over no. After what

Or the hand of glory says that you can equip 3 rings but the ring of fateful Heroism says you can’t equip any more rings?

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Contradiction question 5 days 20 hours ago #2

Per TokenDB for Ring of Fateful Heroism:

"Items or effects which grant additional ring slots (e.g., Gloves of Glory or Hand of Glory) do not bypass this item’s ring prohibition."

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Contradiction question 5 days 19 hours ago #3

Mike Steele wrote: Per TokenDB for Ring of Fateful Heroism:

"Items or effects which grant additional ring slots (e.g., Gloves of Glory or Hand of Glory) do not bypass this item’s ring prohibition."


So is this a per item kinda thing that all should be looked up on token dB?

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Contradiction question 5 days 19 hours ago #4

Steven wrote:

Mike Steele wrote: Per TokenDB for Ring of Fateful Heroism:

"Items or effects which grant additional ring slots (e.g., Gloves of Glory or Hand of Glory) do not bypass this item’s ring prohibition."


So is this a per item kinda thing that all should be looked up on token dB?


It's always a good idea to look things up, but I suspect all similar situations will have the same ruling.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Contradiction question 5 days 18 hours ago #5

Steven wrote: Cooks hat says you can’t equip more than 4 IS but arcane bracelets says 2 more.

In this example, assuming Cook's Hat does not change, your total ioun stone cap would be 4. If Cook's Hat winds up being printed as is, that cap would be clearly spelled out in the TDb. As Mike Steel said, when in doubt, check the TDb. There simply isn't enough room to print all the nuances and interactions of some tokens on the tokens themselves.
Have you looked it up in the TDb ?
Please post TDb corrections/suggestions in this thread .
If I write something in teal, it should not be taken seriously.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Contradiction question 5 days 18 hours ago #6

Druegar wrote:

Steven wrote: Cooks hat says you can’t equip more than 4 IS but arcane bracelets says 2 more.

In this example, assuming Cook's Hat does not change, your total ioun stone cap would be 4. If Cook's Hat winds up being printed as is, that cap would be clearly spelled out in the TDb. As Mike Steel said, when in doubt, check the TDb. There simply isn't enough room to print all the nuances and interactions of some tokens on the tokens themselves.


We could make the tokens bigger to fit all the print. How about coaster size? I'm sure that will make life easier for everyone! :laugh:
Follow me on Instagram @runningboardgamer

Awesome avatar by Mauve Shirt!

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Contradiction question 5 days 17 hours ago #7

Think of it this way, if cooks hat intends to allow players to increase their ioun stone slots beyond 4, it will say '-1 ioun stone slot' or something to that effect. Being worded as a hard limit means that you cannot increase that number. In that sense, cooks hat does not actually create any contradiction at all: you can increase your number of ioun stone slots to 7 or 9, but cooks hat will only let you equip 4.
this is not a signature.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Contradiction question 5 days 16 hours ago #8

For general guidance on this kind of thing:

1. When there is a contradiction between the rules and a token, the token is right (many tokens exist solely to modify rules, like all slot manipulation ones).

2. TokenDB has the authoritative rules for a token. When there is a contradiction between a token's text (or the interpretation thereof) and the TDb entry, the TDb entry is right.

3. As a rule of thumb, "can't" overrides "can." If one token says "character may not frobulate" and another token says: "frobulate as a free action" the interaction is very likely going to be ruled that the character may not frobulate.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Last edit: by Matthew Hayward.

Contradiction question 5 days 14 hours ago #9

Matthew Hayward wrote: For general guidance on this kind of thing:

3. As a rule of thumb, "can't" overrides "can." If one token says "character may not frobulate" and another token says: "frobulate as a free action" the interaction is very likely going to be ruled that the character may not frobulate.


I usually like it in games when it goes the other way. It requires another token to counter the defect of the first one instead of the defect of the first making its counterpart useless because lest be honest who would want the ability to frobulate taken away?

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Contradiction question 4 days 18 hours ago #10

Matthew Hayward wrote: If one token says "character may not frobulate" and another token says: "frobulate as a free action" the interaction is very likely going to be ruled that the character may not frobulate.


Well, thanks, now I want a token that specifically allows frobulating.
I came here to sing and collect tokens, and I'm alllll out of money.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Contradiction question 4 days 12 hours ago #11

Singsalot wrote:

Matthew Hayward wrote: If one token says "character may not frobulate" and another token says: "frobulate as a free action" the interaction is very likely going to be ruled that the character may not frobulate.


Well, thanks, now I want a token that specifically allows frobulating.


Frobulating is a perfectly cromulent action.
Follow me on Instagram @runningboardgamer

Awesome avatar by Mauve Shirt!

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Contradiction question 4 days 11 hours ago #12

Would it Embiggen you? I need to know!
I came here to sing and collect tokens, and I'm alllll out of money.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Page:
  • 1
Time to create page: 0.232 seconds