Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me
  • Page:
  • 1
  • 2

TOPIC: Bracelets of Zephyr and Crown of Expertise

Bracelets of Zephyr and Crown of Expertise 4 months 1 week ago #1

  • Donald Rients
  • Donald Rients's Avatar Topic Author
  • Offline
  • 9th Level
  • Supporter
  • 2008 and Current True Arena Grand Champion
  • Posts: 1151
When equipped with the Bracelets of Zephyr and Crown of Expertise can the Wizard cast the Lightning Storm spell twice in the same round?I know one would be cast as spell.

My current spell damage is 12 I have the mad evoker's charm, but it only works on one spell since the second spell would be considered a scroll, and evoker's charm doesn't work with scrolls. The math would be 20 spell + 12 spell damage + 20 Mad Evoker's Charm (doesn't get additional 12?) + 20 spell (as scroll), equaling 72? Is this the correct calculation?

Not sure what category to put these questions, so I used the Token one.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Bracelets of Zephyr and Crown of Expertise 4 months 1 week ago #2

Donald Rients wrote: When equipped with the Bracelets of Zephyr and Crown of Expertise can the Wizard cast the Lightning Storm spell twice in the same round?I know one would be cast as spell.

My current spell damage is 12 I have the mad evoker's charm, but it only works on one spell since the second spell would be considered a scroll, and evoker's charm doesn't work with scrolls. The math would be 20 spell + 12 spell damage + 20 Mad Evoker's Charm (doesn't get additional 12?) + 20 spell (as scroll), equaling 72? Is this the correct calculation?

Not sure what category to put these questions, so I used the Token one.


Well - you can't use MeC twice in one round in any case, so don't worry about that.

MeC "doubles" the base damage of a spell plus planar skill check bonus only. "doubles" is in quotes, because what it really does is give you a damage pool equal to the base damage of a spell you may distribute among targets.

So, MeC on Lightning Storm gives you 20 points of damage to all monsters + 20 points of damage spread however you like among all monsters (but not to each).

I believe you can use Crown of Expertise and Bracelets of the Zephyr together based on the wording in TDb.

The result with a spell damage bonus of 12 would be:

Spell from the card "doubled" with MeC: 20 points base damage to all monsters, 12 point damage pool from your spell bonus, 20 point damage pool from MeC.

Then use Crown of Expertise + Bracelets of the Zephyr for a second casting: 20 to all monsters.

So you would do 40 to all monsters, and have another 32 points of damage to send where you want.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Bracelets of Zephyr and Crown of Expertise 4 months 1 week ago #3

  • Donald Rients
  • Donald Rients's Avatar Topic Author
  • Offline
  • 9th Level
  • Supporter
  • 2008 and Current True Arena Grand Champion
  • Posts: 1151

Matthew Hayward wrote:

Donald Rients wrote: When equipped with the Bracelets of Zephyr and Crown of Expertise can the Wizard cast the Lightning Storm spell twice in the same round?I know one would be cast as spell.

My current spell damage is 12 I have the mad evoker's charm, but it only works on one spell since the second spell would be considered a scroll, and evoker's charm doesn't work with scrolls. The math would be 20 spell + 12 spell damage + 20 Mad Evoker's Charm (doesn't get additional 12?) + 20 spell (as scroll), equaling 72? Is this the correct calculation?

Not sure what category to put these questions, so I used the Token one.


Well - you can't use MeC twice in one round in any case, so don't worry about that.

MeC "doubles" the base damage of a spell plus planar skill check bonus only. "doubles" is in quotes, because what it really does is give you a damage pool equal to the base damage of a spell you may distribute among targets.

So, MeC on Lightning Storm gives you 20 points of damage to all monsters + 20 points of damage spread however you like among all monsters (but not to each).

I believe you can use Crown of Expertise and Bracelets of the Zephyr together based on the wording in TDb.

The result with a spell damage bonus of 12 would be:

Spell from the card "doubled" with MeC: 20 points base damage to all monsters, 12 point damage pool from your spell bonus, 20 point damage pool from MeC.

Then use Crown of Expertise + Bracelets of the Zephyr for a second casting: 20 to all monsters.

So you would do 40 to all monsters, and have another 32 points of damage to send where you want.


Thank you, as you can see I am trying to orep for Origins. No one ever takes wizards (and there are 2) so I am building those and the Cleric. That way I don't need to take as many tokens.

So, as far as monster resistances, having the eldritch items no longer affects that?

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Bracelets of Zephyr and Crown of Expertise 4 months 1 week ago #4

Donald Rients wrote: So, as far as monster resistances, having the eldritch items no longer affects that?


That's right.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Bracelets of Zephyr and Crown of Expertise 4 months 1 week ago #5

I am not sure.

The crown let's one use a power or spell without marking it off the card, but doesnt affect the type of action

tokendb.com/token/crown-of-expertise/

However the tokendb entry for bracelets of the zephyr specifically says "
Once per room, if the wearer has cast a spell from the character card as a Standard Action, the wearer may cast an additional unused spell as a Free Action in the same round. (Both spells are marked off the player’s character card.) Thus, the wearer may cast two spells in one round.

The bonus spell is “cast as a scroll” so it may not be modified by skill tests or other enhancements which normally apply to spells, nor may it be duplicated by other items/effects."

tokendb.com/token/bracelets-of-the-zephyr/

Since the crown doesn't require marking it off, does that still count as casting it from the character card for purposes of the bracelets?

I would think it does work, but I could see it being the other way.
First ever death in True Horde
"Well, with you guarding 2 players, that means you take 90. Are you dead?"
-Incognito

My token shop/trade thread: Wade's Wide World of Wonder 

My Current Paladin Build 

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Bracelets of Zephyr and Crown of Expertise 4 months 1 week ago #6

Wade you bring up a good point. However I believe the wording about marking off two spells with the bracelets is more of an explanation than an official requirement.

In other words, normally you would mark off both spells, but the crown modifies that.

Perhaps Druegar will confirm.
My online token shop: www.tdtavern.com

We buy, sell, and trade True Dungeon tokens. We also have a convenient consignment program where you can sell your own tokens.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Bracelets of Zephyr and Crown of Expertise 4 months 1 week ago #7

  • Druegar
  • Druegar's Avatar
  • Away
  • 9th Level
  • Supporter
  • Enjoy Your Burrito
  • Posts: 8658
It's late and I'm feeling unusually think-headed. Might I trouble y'all for an "Executive Summery" of the question please?
Have you looked it up in the TDb ?
Please post TDb corrections/suggestions in this thread .
If I write something in teal, it should not be taken seriously.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Bracelets of Zephyr and Crown of Expertise 4 months 1 week ago #8

Druegar wrote: It's late and I'm feeling unusually think-headed. Might I trouble y'all for an "Executive Summery" of the question please?


My understanding of the question:
Canine use the power of Crown of Expertise to "cast" a spell from the card without marking it off as one's standard action, and use bracelets of the zephyr as one's free action to cast it "as a scroll" in the same round?
First ever death in True Horde
"Well, with you guarding 2 players, that means you take 90. Are you dead?"
-Incognito

My token shop/trade thread: Wade's Wide World of Wonder 

My Current Paladin Build 

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Bracelets of Zephyr and Crown of Expertise 4 months 1 week ago #9

Wade Schwendemann wrote:

Druegar wrote: It's late and I'm feeling unusually think-headed. Might I trouble y'all for an "Executive Summery" of the question please?


My understanding of the question:
Canine use the power of Crown of Expertise to "cast" a spell from the card without marking it off as one's standard action, and use bracelets of the zephyr as one's free action to cast it "as a scroll" in the same round?


Only if you have Figurine of Power - Dog equipped
Please visit my fledgling token store.
truedungeon.com/forum?view=topic&catid=583&id=247486

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Bracelets of Zephyr and Crown of Expertise 4 months 1 week ago #10

Ugh. Should have been
"Can one"
First ever death in True Horde
"Well, with you guarding 2 players, that means you take 90. Are you dead?"
-Incognito

My token shop/trade thread: Wade's Wide World of Wonder 

My Current Paladin Build 

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Bracelets of Zephyr and Crown of Expertise 4 months 1 week ago #11

Wade Schwendemann wrote: Ugh. Should have been
"Can one"


I got it but I couldn’t pass up the opportunity to make a funny.
Please visit my fledgling token store.
truedungeon.com/forum?view=topic&catid=583&id=247486

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Bracelets of Zephyr and Crown of Expertise 4 months 1 week ago #12

Druegar wrote: It's late and I'm feeling unusually think-headed. Might I trouble y'all for an "Executive Summery" of the question please?


Let me take a stab at it:

The question in particular is: Can a 5th level Wizard cast Lightning Storm twice in one round (which only has one box on the card) by using Crown of Expertise and Bracelets of the Zephyr.

If yes, how does that work? If no, why not?

The question as pertains to the general rules is:

The TDb entry says of Bracelets of the Zephyr in parenthetical text:
(Both spells are marked off the player's card.)
Is this just reminder text, or is this a 'cost' of using the Bracelets of the Zephyr. Because if it's a 'cost', then the cost becomes impossible to pay if you use Crown of Expertise on your standard action spell.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Page:
  • 1
  • 2
Time to create page: 0.191 seconds