Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me
  • Page:
  • 1

TOPIC: I search the land for a Justicar named Druegar! (LoSS+AAO Interaction Q)

I search the land for a Justicar named Druegar! (LoSS+AAO Interaction Q) 2 months 1 week ago #1

Some confusion exists as to how Lenses of Sage Speed functions. Apparently there has been a ruling, but I searched the 2017 token design thread and couldn't find it.

I'm hoping for an official ruling, possibly to be enshrined in TDb.

Lenses of Sage Speed's TDb entry says:

The wearer may cast two scrolls in one round. The first scroll consumes the wearer’s Standard Action and the second scroll consumes the wearer’s Free Action for that round. It does not allow wearers to cast a scroll as a Free Action if their Standard Action was used for any purpose other than casting a scroll. The wearer may choose to cast two different scrolls or the same-named scroll twice, but no matter what, the player must turn in two scroll tokens.

Only actual scrolls may be used in conjunction with this item–it does not affect spells nor effects which are cast/activated “as a scroll”.


The confusion centers around the interpretation of the text in bold. The two interpretations seem to be:

Interpretation 1: As long as the wearer's Standard Action in any way resulted in at least one scroll getting cast, then the Lenses of Sage Speed allows the wearer to cast a scroll as a Free Action.

Interpretation 2: The lenses consume both the wearers Standard Action and their Free Action. The only way to use this token is to expend both your Standard Action and your Free Action to using the LoSS, and for this you get to cast two scrolls.

Interpretation 1 and 2 end up in a rules disagreement when Amorgen's Amazing Ocarina / Lute of Free Fury / Widseth's Legendary Lute come into play and the Bard conducts (har-har) a Standard Action that performs both Bardsong and reads a scroll.

In answering this question, I would consider how the answer would bear on these hypothetical tokens:

Potion of Finals Cramming - Until end of room you may read 2 scrolls as a Standard Action. Would Lenses of Sage Speed allow you to cast a scroll as a Free Action after reading 2 scrolls as a Standard Action under the influence of this potion?

Tome of the Overmind - You may use your Standard Action to give another player an additional Standard Action. If:

- A Druid wearing Lenses of Sage Speed used Tome of the Overmind to give a Standard Action to a Wizard
- And the Wizard used that additional Standard Action to cast a scroll

Would the Druid's Lenses of Sage Speed allow them to cast a scroll as a Free Action?
Pick your Purple and discounted token packs: discount-dungeon.com

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Last edit: by Matthew Hayward.

I search the land for a Justicar named Druegar! (LoSS+AAO Interaction Q) 2 months 1 week ago #2

Matthew Hayward wrote: The confusion centers around the interpretation of the text in bold.

There is no bold (only Zuul) text in your quote.
Have you looked it up in the TDb ?
Please post TDb corrections/suggestions in this thread .
If I write something in teal, it should not be taken seriously.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

I search the land for a Justicar named Druegar! (LoSS+AAO Interaction Q) 2 months 1 week ago #3

Have you looked it up in the TDb ?
Please post TDb corrections/suggestions in this thread .
If I write something in teal, it should not be taken seriously.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

I search the land for a Justicar named Druegar! (LoSS+AAO Interaction Q) 2 months 1 week ago #4

Druegar wrote:

Matthew Hayward wrote: The confusion centers around the interpretation of the text in bold.

There is no bold (only Zuul) text in your quote.


Weird - it renders in bold on my web browser, Chrome on Windows.
Pick your Purple and discounted token packs: discount-dungeon.com

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

I search the land for a Justicar named Druegar! (LoSS+AAO Interaction Q) 2 months 1 week ago #5

Druegar wrote: Lenses of Sage Speed
better now?


Looks great! Confirming my understanding then, you can use these with Lute of Free Fury / Widseth's Mystical / Amorgen's Amazing Ocarina / Future scroll enablers so long as the standard action "included casting a scroll."
Pick your Purple and discounted token packs: discount-dungeon.com

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Page:
  • 1
Time to create page: 0.218 seconds