Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me
  • Page:
  • 1

TOPIC: Shaman’s Greater Necklace Question

Shaman’s Greater Necklace Question 2 months 2 weeks ago #1

If I recall correctly, during the token design process, it was stated that if you had the Shaman’s Greater Necklace or the Iktomi's Shaper Necklace, you could instantaneously polymorph or unpolymorph.

However, in the TokenDB for Shaman's Greater Necklace, while it says "As an Instantaneous Action (contrary to what the token states, this does not use up either the wearer’s Free or Standard Action for the round), the wearer may polymorph into one of four types of Elemental" it doesn't say the same for unpolymorphing.

What kind of action is it for a character to unpolymorph? I'm guessing it's the same instantaneous action, since for a polymorph bear potion it says "The transformation from human(oid) to bear, or vice versa, is instantaneous".

Should the tokendb entry for the necklace say ""As an Instantaneous Action (contrary to what the token states, this does not use up either the wearer’s Free or Standard Action for the round), the wearer may polymorph into one of four types of Elemental, or vice versa"?

As a side-note, Iktomi's Shaper Necklace doesn't seem to be in TokenDB.Com.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Shaman’s Greater Necklace Question 2 months 2 weeks ago #2

Mike Steele wrote: If I recall correctly, during the token design process, it was stated that if you had the Shaman’s Greater Necklace or the Iktomi's Shaper Necklace, you could instantaneously polymorph or unpolymorph.

However, in the TokenDB for Shaman's Greater Necklace, while it says "As an Instantaneous Action (contrary to what the token states, this does not use up either the wearer’s Free or Standard Action for the round), the wearer may polymorph into one of four types of Elemental" it doesn't say the same for unpolymorphing.

What kind of action is it for a character to unpolymorph? I'm guessing it's the same instantaneous action, since for a polymorph bear potion it says "The transformation from human(oid) to bear, or vice versa, is instantaneous".

Should the tokendb entry for the necklace say ""As an Instantaneous Action (contrary to what the token states, this does not use up either the wearer’s Free or Standard Action for the round), the wearer may polymorph into one of four types of Elemental, or vice versa"?

As a side-note, Iktomi's Shaper Necklace doesn't seem to be in TokenDB.Com.


I’m finding it

tokendb.com/token/iktomis-shaper-necklace/
D&D teaches all the important lessons in life - the low blow, the cheap shot, the back stab, the double cross. - Jerry Marsischky

Let them trap us. We have our swords. - Elric of Melnibone.

You try to get them to play the game, but all they want to do is play the rules. - Ardak Kumerian

I do not love the bright sword for its sharpness, nor the arrow for its swiftness, nor the warrior for his glory. I love only that which they defend - Faramir

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Shaman’s Greater Necklace Question 2 months 2 weeks ago #3

Harlax wrote:

Mike Steele wrote: If I recall correctly, during the token design process, it was stated that if you had the Shaman’s Greater Necklace or the Iktomi's Shaper Necklace, you could instantaneously polymorph or unpolymorph.

However, in the TokenDB for Shaman's Greater Necklace, while it says "As an Instantaneous Action (contrary to what the token states, this does not use up either the wearer’s Free or Standard Action for the round), the wearer may polymorph into one of four types of Elemental" it doesn't say the same for unpolymorphing.

What kind of action is it for a character to unpolymorph? I'm guessing it's the same instantaneous action, since for a polymorph bear potion it says "The transformation from human(oid) to bear, or vice versa, is instantaneous".

Should the tokendb entry for the necklace say ""As an Instantaneous Action (contrary to what the token states, this does not use up either the wearer’s Free or Standard Action for the round), the wearer may polymorph into one of four types of Elemental, or vice versa"?

As a side-note, Iktomi's Shaper Necklace doesn't seem to be in TokenDB.Com.


I’m finding it

tokendb.com/token/iktomis-shaper-necklace/


I'm finding it now also. Maybe it was just fixed? Or maybe a temporary glitch on my end.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Shaman’s Greater Necklace Question 2 months 2 weeks ago #4

Mike Steele wrote: Maybe it was just fixed?

nope

Were you by chance looking at this:
http://tokendb.com/?fwp_token_search=Iktomi
instead of this?
http://tokendb.com/token/iktomis-shaper-necklace/
Have you looked it up in the TDb ?
Please post TDb corrections/suggestions in this thread .
If I write something in teal, it should not be taken seriously.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Shaman’s Greater Necklace Question 2 months 2 weeks ago #5

I found it by searching for shaper.
D&D teaches all the important lessons in life - the low blow, the cheap shot, the back stab, the double cross. - Jerry Marsischky

Let them trap us. We have our swords. - Elric of Melnibone.

You try to get them to play the game, but all they want to do is play the rules. - Ardak Kumerian

I do not love the bright sword for its sharpness, nor the arrow for its swiftness, nor the warrior for his glory. I love only that which they defend - Faramir

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Shaman’s Greater Necklace Question 2 months 2 weeks ago #6

Druegar wrote:

Mike Steele wrote: Maybe it was just fixed?

nope

Were you by chance looking at this:
http://tokendb.com/?fwp_token_search=Iktomi
instead of this?
http://tokendb.com/token/iktomis-shaper-necklace/


I get the error when I click on the Iktomi link on the Relic necklace page.

I still have the question of whether the Relic and legendary should have "and vice versa" like the potions do for polymorphing back to human instantaneously.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Shaman’s Greater Necklace Question 2 months 2 weeks ago #7

While it's true that tokens are known to bend standard rules, unless a token's text or its verbose TDb description specifically mention a token is breaking a rule, it's safe to assume the rule stands.

The PHB is very clear about how long it takes to polymorph into or out of creature form.

The tokens you mention do not say those polymorph transformations take longer to get out of. Ergo, the standard rule(s) apply.
Have you looked it up in the TDb ?
Please post TDb corrections/suggestions in this thread .
If I write something in teal, it should not be taken seriously.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Shaman’s Greater Necklace Question 2 months 2 weeks ago #8

Druegar wrote: While it's true that tokens are known to bend standard rules, unless a token's text or its verbose TDb description specifically mention a token is breaking a rule, it's safe to assume the rule stands.

The PHB is very clear about how long it takes to polymorph into or out of creature form.

The tokens you mention do not say those polymorph transformations take longer to get out of. Ergo, the standard rule(s) apply.


Thanks!

I'll be honest, I've never fully read the Player's Handbook.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Shaman’s Greater Necklace Question 2 months 2 weeks ago #9

Mike Steele wrote:

Druegar wrote: While it's true that tokens are known to bend standard rules, unless a token's text or its verbose TDb description specifically mention a token is breaking a rule, it's safe to assume the rule stands.

The PHB is very clear about how long it takes to polymorph into or out of creature form.

The tokens you mention do not say those polymorph transformations take longer to get out of. Ergo, the standard rule(s) apply.


Thanks!

I'll be honest, I've never fully read the Player's Handbook.


TPTB hide all sorts of secret knowledge in the online docs.
barkley.neo.rr.com -->see my trade thread HERE , my eBay store HERE or my web store HERE
"Ceci n'est pas une pipe" - Magritte

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Shaman’s Greater Necklace Question 2 months 2 weeks ago #10

Mike Steele wrote: I've never fully read the Player's Handbook.

😐
Have you looked it up in the TDb ?
Please post TDb corrections/suggestions in this thread .
If I write something in teal, it should not be taken seriously.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Page:
  • 1
Time to create page: 0.185 seconds